Weaving beginnings: My first experience making ground Mat 🪡🧶

My art represents the culture of ancient times. Back then, when there were no dining tables, people would gather around the stove in winter to eat together. The stove was made of clay on the ground, and a fire was lit in it to cook food. The elders of the family were given food on a charpoy, while the rest would sit in a circle around the stove to eat together.These Mats which I have made were used for sitting on the ground.

This is my first blog in this community. I am not an artist myself, but I saw an artist creating this and learned by watching. First, I took a thick needle to join the fabric strip.

I used cotton thread to stitch it together to ensure strength. This stitch is done firmly because if it is not sewn properly, it can break at any time.

I secured the joint by stitching it with a needle. I should have used thread of the same color as the fabric, but I couldn't find it at that moment.

The needlework is finished once the seam of the strip is done. I will need it again when I complete the work and have to make the final seam.

I unfolded the strip to make it easier to work with. Now I need to finish it. First, I have to close one side by attaching a strip of fabric.

After completing one side, I now need to weave the strip through the other side.

The strip on the other side needs to be passed once over and then under. I've completed half of it this way.

After completing the strip on the other side, it is now ready. The final design is in front of you. More designs can be made, but this was my first attempt, and this is what I could create. Next time, I will try to improve it further.
In advance,Thank you so much for appreciation 😊

Here is the video, you can watch the process.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now