Pencil gown with 3steps flare sleeve and stylish cape made for my close friend

Hello everyone

PhotoCollage_1687158423444.png

Lovely Monday to you all on this beautiful day, it feels great to be part of this week's @needleworkmonday post, where we show case our creativity. I hope you all are doing well, it's a new week and I wish you all the very best of the week.

Precious has been my friend for awhile now, we meet in church, so we usually sit and sing together then we became friends, she likes most of my outfit I wear to church. As a choir member, we are always on uniform but anytime we were oppurtuned to wear native, she always admire my outfit. She started bringing fabrics for me to make for her.

Last week, she brought this Kampala fabric for me to make a particular style for her, but the yards of the fabric she brought was not enough to sew the style, before sewing, we need to put the yards of fabric we have into consideration if there will be room for combination of other materials to make the particular style or not, as for precious my friend, she had already told me she didn't plan to buy any material to add to it, she only wants me to used the fabric she bought, that was actually what made me make a choice for her by making this three steps flare sleeves on a pencil gown with cape.

When I told her of what I intend to make for her, she agreed with me trusting that I will make something nice for her.

The delivery date was scheduled to be on 24th of this month, since I was less busy, I decided to work on the fabric earlier since I had everything needed to make the outfit.

cutting and sewing process

I started by drafting out the upper bodice with a princess dart bustier pattern on a brown paper which was set aside, then I proceeded to the fabric to cut out the lower part from the waistline to the full length after which the pattern was placed on the main fabric to cut out same shape and sewn together with lining.

IMG_20230618_073512_744.jpg

IMG_20230618_074923_520.jpg

IMG_20230618_073303_143.jpg

The cape was cut out by tracing the neckline on the fabric then curved out to my desired shape and sewn to the neckline.

IMG_20230618_073252_913.jpg

The sleeves is where the style is to bring out the beauty of the outfit which I made to be 3steps sewn on a basic sleeve.

First I cut out a basic sleeve, with the sleeve measurement, from the hem of the sleeve, I marked out 3" intervals then I took the measurement of each line to cut out the flare.

IMG_20230617_172434_356.jpg

IMG_20230618_073425_914.jpg

Each flare were cut out with x1.5 of the round sleeve measurement and sewn to the line I marked out.

IMG_20230618_073442_445.jpg

IMG_20230618_073402_571.jpg

The sleeves were sewn to the gown and I had this beautiful outfit.

IMG_20230618_114543_761.jpg

On Saturday,my friend called to tell me that the program they bought the fabric for was scheduled to hold on 17th not 24th as she thought but fortunately for her, I had already made her outfit, she was so glad beyond words. I was happy too to have made her dress earlier then the delivery date.

Thanks so much for your time, support, comment and encouragement. Have a great week.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center