Silver Shards - Book Edition / Gümüş Parçalar - Kitap Sürümü (Eng-Tr)

English

Hello everyone!

As soon as I learnt about this new community thanks to @pravesh0, I immediately thought of the beauties I will mention below.

To tell you the truth, especially first edition books and/or translators are very dear to me. The Tüyap Book Fair, which I mentioned in a previous post, is a paradise for this interest.

These precious items, which resemble the silver pieces that I found in a treasure trove full of gold coins at the exhibition, which was also participated by the forgers, are very valuable to me. I will talk about the reasons in a moment.

As for the books, since I want to save the drama for the end, I would like to talk about another book first.

Ancient Mystery Cults - Walter Burkert

According to the back cover, the author of this book, Walter Burkert, is a historian of Greek religion. This means that he deals with what we nowadays call "mythology". But he does not use a familiar language in doing so because he becomes a teacher rather than a storyteller.

Judith Amory commented on this book;

"Readers will learn much from this fascinating book, written in clear language, about ancient peoples' attempts to find safety and joy in a harsh world. They will at least partially immerse themselves in different minds, get a glimpse of experiences of extreme joy, and wonder about what happened centuries ago."


Issued in 1986, this book was translated by Sina Şener and published in 1999, and I found this book among a pile of relatively new books.

To tell you the truth, I bought it at a very good price. I thought I would find such a solid first edition a little more difficult. I paid exactly 100 TL (3.27 USD) for this book. I think it's a pretty good price considering the economy.

I think I should also add that there are wonderful pictures in this book because I liked them as well. If you support it with your up-to-date information for history reading, it will be a great history reading.

The Lily of the Valley - Balzac

That's my beauty. Now, some of you may be asking "What makes this book so special?" Let me answer this question immediately; the translator. Just below the picture on the cover, hopefully, you can easily see the inscription "In Turkish: Cemal Sureya" which explains everything. This book is definitely not a first edition. But despite this, there are spelling mistakes, of course. We are dealing with an old-style, non-industrialised book arrangement.

Personally, I am quite pleased with its current state. The yellowing of its leaves proves to me that this book is really older than me. How? I'm going to write my age, but that's okay 🤣 I was born in 1998 and this book is the 1990 edition. In fact, the results of Cemal Bey's efforts, whom I know more as a poet and have a few poetry books, never end.


There is also the fact that this beautiful masterpiece is almost untouched. There's not a scratch on it, except the colour of time. How did it endure 34 years of suffering?

Of course, I will not talk about this book because it is a classic. If you have not read these classics, I will, unfortunately, judge you. How can one say to oneself "I read!" without reading these classics? Even if you don't like them, you must have read them to know that you don't like them. This is the reason for my judgement, and I should add that I am not a person who judges people except in this matter.

So how much did I pay for this book? 50 TL! (1.63 USD) NO JOKE! Really 50 TL. Someone else's trash became my treasure. I have come across this version a few times before, but most of them were scratched, torn and in bad condition. So when I saw the name of this book in the middle of a pile of 30 books, I ignored the seller and took the plunge myself.

I think I'm done. I don't want to limit my time in this wonderful community by introducing you all the second-hand items I have right away, so I guess it's time for me to say goodbye.

Take care of yourself, stay with health and love and please remember that;

You are the only one of you.


Image from The Terminal Discord

Türkçe

Herkese merhaba!

Bu yeni topluluk hakkında @pravesh0 sayesinde bilgi edinir edinmez konuşurken aklıma hemen aşağıda bahsedeceğim güzellikler geldi.

Doğruyu söylemek gerekirse özellikle ilk basım kitaplar ve/veya çevirmeni gibi bir sürü benim için oldukça değerli. Daha önceki bir postumda bahsettiğim Tüyap Kitap Fuarı bu ilgi için tam bir cennet.

20240208_200914.jpg

Sahafların da katılım sağladığı bu sergide altın paralarla dolu hazine içerisinde arayarak bulduğum gümüş parçaları andıran bu parçalar benim için oldukça değerli. Sebeplerinden ise birazdan bahsedeceğim.

books.png

Kitaplara gelecek olursak eğer divayı sona saklamak istediğimden ilk önce başka bir kitaptan bahsetmek isterim.

İlkçağ Gizem Tapıları - Walter Burkert

20240208_200937.jpg

Arka kapağında yazana göre bu kitabın yazarı Walter Burkert bir Yunan Dini Tarihçisi. Bu da demek ki bizim günümüzde mitoloji olarak isimlendirdiğimiz konuları ele alıyor. Ama bunu yaparken bildiğimiz bir dil kullanmıyor çünkü kendisi bir hikâye anlatıcısından ziyade bir öğretmen oluveriyor.

Judith Amory'nin bu kitap hakkında yaptığı yoruma göre;

"Okuyucuların açık bir dille yazılmış bu büyüleyici kitaptan, eskiçağ insanlarının zorlu dünyalarında, güvenliği ve neşeyi bulma girişimleri hakkında çok şey öğreneceklerdir. En azından kısmen farklı zihinlere dalabilecek, aşırı sevince ilişkin deneyimleri bir an görecekler ve asırlar önce meydana geleni merak edeceklerdir."


20240208_201038.jpg

1986 yılında düzenlenmeye verilmiş bu kitabın çevirisi Sina Şener tarafından yapılmış ve 1999 yılı basım tarihli bu kitabı bir yığın yeni sayılabilecek kitabın arasında buldum.

Oldukça da uyguna aldım ne yalan söyleyeyim. Bu kadar sağlam bir ilk baskıyı biraz daha zor bulurum diye düşünüyordum. Bu kitaba tam olarak 100 TL ödedim. Bence ekonomiyi düşününce oldukça iyi bir fiyat.

20240208_201135.jpg

Bir de sanırım bu kitap içerisinde harika resimler olduğunu da eklesem iyi olacak çünkü onları da ayrı bir sevdim. Tarih okuması için güncel bilgilerinizle desteklerseniz harika bir tarih okuması olacaktır.

Vadideki Zambak - Balzac

20240208_200951.jpg

İşte benim güzelim. Şimdi diyenleriniz olabilir "Bu kitabı bu kadar özel kılan ne?" Hemen bu sorunun cevabını vereyim; Çevirmeni. Kapaktaki resmin hemen altında, umarım, rahatlıkla görebildiğiniz "Türkçesi: Cemal Sureya yazısı her şeyi açıklıyor. Bu kitap kesinlikle bir ilk basım değil. Ama buna rağmen yazım yanlışları var elbette. Eski tip, sanayileştirilmemiş bir kitap düzenlemesi var karşımızda.

Şahsen şu anki durumundan oldukça memnun kaldım. Yapraklarının sararmış olması bana gerçekten bu kitabın benden daha büyük olduğunu kanıtlıyor. Nasıl mı? Yaşımı yazacağım aslında ama olsun 🤣 Ben 1998 yılında doğdum ve bu kitap 1990 basımı. Aslında daha çok şair kimliği ile tanıdığım ve birkaç şiir kitabına da sahip olduğum Cemal Bey'in verdiği emeklerin meyveleri bir türlü bitmiyor.


20240208_201154.jpg

Bir de bu güzel başyapıtın da neredeyse dokunulmamış olduğu gerçeği bambaşka bir durum. Üzerinde, zamanın rengi dışında, bir çizik bile yok. 34 yıl boyunca nasıl dayanmış bu kadar acılara?

Tabii bu kitabın hakkında, bir klasik olduğundan dolayı, konuşmayacağım. Eğer bu klasik okumaları yapmadıysanız sizi, ne yazık ki, yargılayacağım. Bu klasikleri okumadan insan kendine nasıl "Okurum ben!" der? Sevmeseniz bile, sevmediğinizi bilmeniz için okumuş olmanız gerekir. Yargılamamın sebebi de bu yüzdendir ki eklemeliyim, bu konu haricinde insanlarını yargılayan biri değilim.

Peki bu kitaba ne kadar ödedim? 50 TL! ŞAKA DEĞİL! Gerçekten 50 TL. Başkasının çöpü benim hazinem oluverdi. Daha önce birkaç kere bu versiyon ile karşılaşmıştım fakat çoğu çizilmiş, yırtılmış ve kötü durumdaydı. Bu yüzden bu kitabın adını 30 tane kitaptan oluşan yığının ortasında gördüğümde satıcıyı boş verip kendim giriştim çıkarmaya.

Sanırım benden bu kadar. Hemen elimdeki bütün ikinci el eşyaları size tanıtarak bu harika toplulukta zamanımı kısıtlamak istemiyorum. Bu yüzden de sanırım elveda deme vaktim geldi.

Kendinize iyi bakın, sağlıkla ve sevgiyle kalın ve lütfen unutmayın ki;

Bu dünyada sizden başka bir tane daha yok.

RNFetchBlobTmp_hvv296w92jeot41sq28kbf.png


Bütün fotoğraflar aksini iddia etmediğim sürece benim tarafımdan, akıllı telefonumla çekilmiştir.
All photos are taken by me, with my smart phone unless otherwise stated.


All of my content is written in Turkish first and then with the help of translators and dictionaries below translated in English.

https://www.seslisozluk.net
https://www.deepl.com/translator


P.S. If you know English AND Turkish, I do that too... If you see a translation discrepancy that was on purpose. I did think this is as proper as I could do. Because there are many differences between these languages.

Not: Hem Türkçe hem de İngilizce biliyorsanız, ben de biliyorum... Eğer çeviri farklılığı görürseniz bunun bilinçli olduğunu bilin lütfen. Bunu yapabileceğim en uygun şekilde yaptığımı düşünüyorum. Çünkü bu iki dil arasında çok fazla fark var.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments