Reflections of A Temperate, Techie Boyfriend

I feel as though I am slowing time. These daily reflections take some work. To make the necessary space to create each day, takes an amount of will I did not realize.

Here's a link, because I was surprised by this one. Today's crop of holidays feels scant somewhat. It won't stop my thoughts from flowing, but aren't I supposed to be celebrated on National Boyfriend Day? What am I going to reflect on?


National Boyfriend Day.jpg

National Boyfriend Day

I can't help it. I have ambitions for my girlfriend and myself, as a boyfriend. She doesn't have to do anything she doesn't want, but I'm sure we've all heard the Pussycat Dolls' hit single, Don't Cha.

In short, my answer to Nicole Sherzinger's question is a resounding yes.

At the very least, I don't ever wish to find myself the type of boyfriend who does something like this. I plan to be in a secure place before bringing life into the world as I hope most men would. Then again, that regrettable story highlights not everyone is cut from the same cloth.

pb001-1-2.jpg

I want to look like Frank Zane up here.


So, what kind of boyfriend do I want to be? I want to set stronger boundaries with my time. Time is precious, so don't waste it, encouraged Steve Jobs. Yet I don't need a genius to tell me I ought to focus on building assets for the future, whatever it may hold. I want to be the kind of man who knows when it's time to leave. Some people don't take a hint, and I've been too generous to talkers before.

I want to create the kind of happiness that lasts. It might be that marijuana, alcohol, and material things won’t get me there. While it takes more effort, I get an irreplaceable sense of satisfaction writing each day. I have more fun than ever, running and kicking a ball outside.

pb005-1 (1).jpg

World Temperance Day

In the spirit of substances not bringing satisfaction, it’s World Temperance Day. I don't consider myself a drinker, but I smoke. Not cigarettes, mind you, but I don't think marijuana necessarily spares me from any of the consequences. I do particularly enjoy the bodily effects of marijuana. I think it's a played up trope that it makes you forget, hungry and otherwise unmotivated. I smoke and I'm only one of those things at a time, at the most.

Then again, I can't argue with others' experiences, only share my own. I have given some thought to quitting smoking, especially as I near fatherhood and older age. I don't believe it's a habit my children ought to see me hold, but then again, once they're closer to adult age, making their own decisions, we may see the herb return.

I don't blame drugs for the decisions I make, that's all I mean to explain. It'd be irresponsible to claim I'm slipping because I smoke too much; I rather accept that I could choose to smoke less, which may reduce my distractions and spending. The consequence of smoking less might be beneficial, but I take responsibility for the actions.

Food doesn't encourage you to overeat, right? It isn't your bed that's so comfortable you can't get up, no? In short, it's like a quote I found from Confucius the other day, related to archery.

The archer who misses his mark does not blame the target. He stops, corrects himself and aims again.

pb024-1-2-post.jpg

National Techies Day

In the case of technology, though I blame my devices all the time. I mean, who downloaded an Ethereum mining setup for 60 GB of space taken on my SSD? Or, with no disrespect to their fans, why keep Genshin Impact on my device if I don't play it? Or any other game for that matter.

Clearing space on the drive felt like a Herculean task, until my good man @bluejuicemedia suggested a particular tool for the job.

WinDirStat!

In short, the little program tabulates all the space taken by all the folders on your machine. It's wonderful. I think I made about 400 GB worth of space available overnight, just removing things I don't use anymore.

I don't call myself a techie, but I must fit the bill with my interests. We live in an age where the tech is as indispensable as a sword to a soldier, a pen to an author. I also strongly believe that tech paired with the right knowledge can raise your station. So call me what you want, but don't call me for tech support. I already do that 11:30 to 8.

koda017.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center