On the Walls

Our home looks like a mental asylum.

It isn't because of the padded walls and the amount of medicine we have stored, but rather, because we don't have any pictures on the wall. It has been years, and it pains me. I have grown up with paintings by my father littering the home with beauty, but I don't have any of them here with me in Finland. I have been meaning to do something about that, but have always found other things to do.

image.png

Until today.

What I have done is tracked a few pictures down through the tens of thousands of images I have taken and then edited the images, which has taken me a while, as I haven't used Lightroom on the desktop for a long time and it seems it needs a lot more RAM now than I have.

It kept crashing.

These are the ones I have edited, from our honeymoon in Italy and also from our first family holiday together in Croatia last year. I am not getting all of them printed, but I have selected a couple that I will print at 80x120 cm onto canvas, and then a couple more smaller ones that we can put in the kitchen.




While I printed the gondola and the yellow shopfront from those above in smaller sizes, these two below are what will adorn the living room wall. However, I am not sure which it will be. My wife wants the cable car and the sunset, but I quite like the wave crashing on the rocks.

cablecar.jpg

wave.jpg

What do you think?

Oh, and the entry picture is of our dog that passed a few years ago, but I am not getting that one printed at all for now. Though, I would like to have a nice memory photo of it at some point.

Having some art on the wall is important for me, but it has to be something personal. It has to be handmade, unique - but since I can't paint well enough, my photography is going to have to do for now. I would like to get something from a local artist too, but that will have to wait a bit.

How about you, do you have art on the wall and if so, what kind?
Paintings, photos, posters?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments