MacGyver you're an amateur, get off!

1000041706.jpg

Equation: comfort + smell of cake in the oven – alarm button = weekend

(Amy Krouse Rosenthal)



In the afternoon, while Samuele slept between my legs, forcing me into the lotus position without any meditative intention, I watched some videos on the Tubo.

Between a Youtuber who does DIY and one who gives financial advice I came across some bushcraft videos.

Do you know those people who spend their free time in the woods as a hobby and with a knife, a shovel and an ax they build you a city? Here they are!

In the video in question the nice guy builds a real house with earth, stones and wood and, as described in the title, lives there for more than a year!
As the title suggests, MacGyver was a novice in comparison!

I love nature and as a good scout, when I was younger, I even spent entire weeks there; I admit, however, that compared to this guy in the video and many other similar people, it was as if we were in a holiday village sleeping in tents and bringing the components from home to build the oven and the field kitchen and, among other things, all the castagnole to create the various structures were brought by truck since we kept them ready and cut on site.

Of course we had to find the wood to light the oven, kitchen and fire in the woods, this is true!

Although this type of life is fascinating and can even be fun if done as a pastime, I confess that it is not something I would do full time!

I am also a lover of campers and I see many people who live in them by choice, as I told you above, very nice but I wouldn't live in a camper for more than a month or two or in any case I wouldn't do it if not for holidays.

It is also true that, if my family and I decided to travel around the world, then I would agree to stay there for a slightly longer period.

Let's not lose sight of the topic though... actually I haven't gotten to the point yet, you're right!

From what I have written so far, however, you can guess something!

Although I am not a "comfortable" type and can necessarily give up all types of comfort, if there is no real urgency, I don't see the reason for these sacrifices.

The human race has moved forward and evolved and, in this evolution, there are some positive aspects as well as many things that are destructive.

In this post I obviously take positive things into consideration; I've always liked sleeping in a sleeping bag and then I'm a guy who can fall asleep anywhere, I've slept in the train corridors with my head resting against the window, on the floor in a nine-seater van well fitted into the seat attachment rails, I always slept in the luggage rack on the train... I could go on for hours, but I think you understand the concept, I just close my eyes and I fall asleep; but you want to put the bed in your house with your mattress!

I don't need to tell you that there are no toilets in the woods and you make do as you can, when you're an Explorer it goes a little better than the Clan because the latrines are set up in the camp... It's fine and it helps the kids to acquire a a little spirit of adaptation, but after that a life without a bidet would be worse than hell!

It is useless to continue with examples, you have understood the tenor of my speech, what I want to make clear and that I am in favor of the spirit of adaptation, then by necessity one must know how to live in poverty and without certain comforts; in my way of being, however, if it is not necessary to give up something I don't see the reason to do so.

I understand the life choices of those who give up comfort and dedicate themselves to a frugal life, and they are also choices that I agree with and admire, but I believe that it is something that, in the long term, cannot be good for me.

A life without the internet, by candlelight and with an external bathroom without a bidet, I can do for a week, ten days at most, beyond these times I must honestly say that it is not for me.

Well, now I think I'll stop here, I've already written a lot.
Are you attracted to a lifestyle like the one I'm talking about?
Could you give up all the comforts of modern life without feeling the pinch?
Would you embrace a degrowth option?
Reply to these questions if you like and let me know your thoughts, as you know I'm always happy!

I hug you!



Yes, I too was born among men. I had never seen the Jungle. They passed me food from behind bars in an iron container until one night I felt that I was Bagheera, the Panther, and not a toy for men, and I broke the stupid lock with my paw and went away; and because I had learned the wiles of men, I became more terrible in the Jungle than Shere Khan.”

Separatore Hive.png

Italian Version.png

Equazione: comodità + profumo di torta in forno – tasto della sveglia = weekend

(Amy Krouse Rosenthal)



Pomeriggio, mentre Samuele dormiva tra le mie gambe costringendomi alla posizione del loto senza però alcuna intenzione meditativa, ho guardato alcuni video sul Tubo.

Tra uno Youtuber che si dà al bricolage e uno che regala consigli finanziari mi sono imbattuto in alcuni video di bushcraft.

Hai presente quelle persone che per hobby passano il tempo libero nel bosco e con un coltello, una pala e una'ascia Ti costruiscono una città? Ecco proprio loro!

Nel video in questione il simpatico tizio costruisce una vera e propria abitazione con terra, sassi e legname e, da come descritto nel titolo, ci abita per più di un anno!
Come da titolo MacGyver in confronto era un pivello!

Io amo la natura e da bravo scout, quando ero più giovane, ci passavo anche intere settimane; ammetto però che già noi, rispetto a questo tipo del video e a tante altre persone simili, era come fossimo in un villaggio vacanza dormendo in tenda e portandoci da casa i componenti per realizzare il forno e la cucina da campo e, tra l'altro, tutte le castagnole per realizzare le varie strutture venivano portate da un camion visto che le tenevamo in sede già pronte e tagliate.

Certo la legna per accendere forno, cucina e fuoco ce la dovevamo trovare nel bosco, questo è vero!

Nonostante questo tipo di vita sia affascinante e possa risultare anche divertente se fatta come passatempo, confesso che non è qualcosa che farei a tempo pieno!

Sono anche amante dei camper e vedo tante persone che ci vivono per scelta, come sopra ti dico, molto bello ma io dentro un camper non ci vivrei per più di un mese o due o comunque non lo farei se non per vacanza.

È anche vero che, se con la mia famiglia decidessimo di fare il giro intorno al Mondo, allora accetterei di starci per un periodo un pó più lungo.

Non perdiamo però di vista l'argomento... in realtà ancora non sono arrivato al punto, hai ragione!

Da quel che ho fino a ora scritto però, qualcosa la puoi intuire!

Per quanto non sia un tipo "fraccomodo" e che può per necessità rinunciare a tutti i tipi di comodità, se non ce n'è una vera impellenza non vedo il motivo di queste rinunce.

La razza umana è andata avanti e si è evoluta e, in questa evoluzione, alcuni aspetti positivi ci sono così come tante cose sono distruttive.

In questo post ovviamente io prendo in considerazione le cose positive; dormire nel sacco a pelo mi è sempre piaciuto e poi io sono un tipo che si può addormentare ovunque, ho dormito nei corridoi del treno con la testa appoggiata al finestrino, per terra in un furgone nove posti ben incastrato nei binari di aggancio dei sedili, sempre sul treno ho dormito nella barra portabagagli... potrei continuare per ore, però credo che tu abbia capito il concetto, mi basta chiudere gli occhi e mi addormento; vuoi però mettere il letto di casa tua con il tuo materasso!

Inutile che ti dica che nei boschi non ci sono toilette e ci si arrangia come si può, quando sei Esploratore ti va un po' meglio rispetto al Clan perché si improntano le latrine nel campo... Va bene e serve ai ragazzi per acquisire un po' di spirito di adattamento, dopodiché però una vita senza bidet sarebbe peggio dell'inferno!

È inutile che continui con esempi, hai capito il tenore del mio discorso, quello che voglio far capire e che sono a favore dello spirito di adattamento, per necessità poi bisogna saper vivere in ristrettezza e senza determinate comodità; per mio modo di essere però se non è necessario rinunciare a una cosa non vedo il motivo per farlo.

Capisco le scelte di vita di chi rinuncia alle comodità e si dedica a una vita frugale, e sono anche scelte che condivido e ammiro, però credo che sia qualcosa che, a lungo termine, per me, non può andare bene.

Una vita senza internet, a lume di candela e col bagno esterno senza bidet, la posso fare per una settimana, dieci giorni al massimo, oltre queste tempistiche devo dire onestamente che non fa per me.

Bene, ora credo che mi fermerò qui, ho già scritto tanto.
Tu sei attratto da uno stile di vita come quello di cui parlo?
Riusciresti a rinunciare a tutte le comodità della vita moderna senza accusare il colpo?
Abbracceresti una scelta di decrescita?
Rispondi se Ti va a queste mie domande e fammi sapere il tuo pensiero, come sai mi fa sempre piacere!

Ti Abbraccio!



Sì, anch'io nacqui tra gli uomini. Non avevo mai visto la Giungla. Mi passavano il cibo da dietro le sbarre in un recipiente di ferro finché una notte sentii che ero Bagheera, la Pantera, e non un giocattolo per gli uomini, e spezzai la stupida serratura con una zampata e me ne andai; e poiché avevo imparato le astuzie degli uomini, nella Giungla divenni più terribile di Shere Khan.”

Tag P1k4ppa10 Hive.jpg

The texts are translated with simultaneous translators; for the avoidance of doubt I have decided that they will all be translated exclusively with Google Translate.
Of course, English is not my first language but I try, forgive any mistakes and imperfections of Translate.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now