I got the technology disease

laptop-6332600_1280 (1).jpg

Ergonomically positioned laptop

After a month and a half, I had to put it aside by order of the doctor who forbade me to be on the computer and the phone because I contracted one of the diseases of technology that is currently on the rise, especially in young people.

The consequence of spending so much time on the phone or computer has contributed to new diseases. Technology sickness is a combo of diseases that affect the person as the case may be, to name a few of them are: tendonitis, carpal tunnel syndrome, visual computer syndrome, Text Neck, Cervicalgia, Selfie Elbow, Nintendinitis, phantom vibration syndrome, Dissociative Identity Disorder, WhastsAppitis, Wiitis.


Tendonitis: inflammation of the fibrous connective tissues - the tendons of any part of the body.

Carpal Tunnel: when the nerve in the wrist is affected causing pain, numbness, tingling, weakness, or muscle damage in the hand and fingers.

visual computer syndrome: problems caused by prolonged computer use such as: eye burning, blurred vision, red eye, headache, among others.

Text Next: is a contracture that appears by subjecting the muscles of the neck and head due to bad posture such as placing the neck forward, leaning, causing cervicoarthrosis, contractures and pain.

Cervicalgia: pain is produced at the cervical level.

Selfie elbow: this is when the muscles and tendons of the elbow are pressed when the arm is incorrectly positioned, causing pain and weakness in the area.

Phantom vibration syndrome: this is a psychological problem that gives the sensation that your phone is always vibrating or that you look at it countless times a day thinking that an email has arrived, etc.

Dissociative identity disorder: the inability to distinguish between the real and the virtual. Spending a lot of time playing video games produces imitations of virtual situations in real life.

Nintendinitis, Wiitis, WhastsAppitis
These are inflammations produced by the use of Nintendo, Wii, telephone at the level of the hands, arms.

There are more diseases associated with excessive use of the phone and computer that if I keep naming them the post would be very long.


In my case in particular I was determined by two of these affectations such as: Cervicalgia and Text Neck, part of it was because I use laptop for several hours which affects me because the screen must be at the same level as the eyes so that the head is straight and here comes another associated disease called Text Neck, which is produced by the tension in the muscles of our shoulder, back and neck producing affectation in the neuromusculoskeletal system altering the joint alignment, which brings different consequences such as contractures, headache and back pain aggravating to other diseases.


This implied stopping at Hive, unfortunately I have had to be intermittent in this social network due to my health problem that was derived by so many years in which I did not pay attention to my posture in front of a computer, besides my workstation is not ergonomic in part because it does not comply with the correct ergonomics and as a consequence I had a bad position for years, Another cause was the excessive time I spent on the mobile phone, which caused a bad posture and my neck was forced downwards, which resulted in my head weighing seven kilos or more per hour due to the bad posture.


image.png

At the beginning I didn't stop much to the symptoms I had and when I felt a pain I just took pills because I had to continue working and being strong but I got to a point where I couldn't even hold my head, the pain took over me in an impressive way, I got to the point that my hair was too heavy for me, My legs were shaking from sitting for so long, I was dizzy and I couldn't hold my neck, I was seeing three different doctors in this period of time and the cost of the medication was one of the things that made me angry, especially because I had to suffer the economic cost of injections for my backside.


With these symptoms already more aggravated I decided to take things seriously and go to the doctor, the truth is that I do not like going to the doctor, in fact going to the doctor is always the last option I use, this time I was resting for more than a month and a half, this was a bit discouraging for me, because from one moment to another I felt that all my projects that depend on being on a pc were falling because this is a condition that is controlled but not cured, it has been really discouraging, when I tried to publish again ten days ago, in fact I did it, I presented again several symptoms, this put me in an uncomfortable position since I had to stop again, today I am trying again, I hope to last more time active but everything will depend on how it evolves and how the rehabilitation will help me to be in optimal conditions.


As advice is that we must have an orthopaedic seat, a computer with a good screen, an ergonomic keyboard and mouse, take care of the posture, do not have long working hours, do exercises that strengthen the muscles of the body, in short pay attention to the work furniture so you do not go through something similar, I hope my experience helps you to be aware of these things and you can stay with a balanced health and thus avoid possible damage to the physiognomy.


Well that's all for my part, I hope my experience has helped you. Thanks for reading and supporting me.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version) one imagen of Pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center