@phusionphil owns proofofbrains (or does he think) and makes it a toxic environment

Why this is bad:

  • He scares away chinese speaking users
  • He scares away any rationale individual that wants no links to hate speech
  • He paints hive a bad rep for being unflexible and right wing (reagardless of his political views)
  • This behavior makes the communities toxic, he has a powerful trail of downvotes and his motives are, at best nonsense, and at worst xenophobic

How it began

My beef with @phusionphil started when he attacked me personally for posting about learning Chinese (Mandarim). I have been studying the language for almost 6 years and have friends from many countries that speak it as their mother tongue, including brazilian friends, descending from asian migrants.

The first post was not political at all. I literally just went over my learning method to study chinese.
@igormuba/i-am-learning-chinese-2

The post got automatically downvoted by a downvoting trail led by @phusionphil
_2021_09_22_at_14.56.35.jpg

I then posted making sure to tag them and asking for an explanation about why did they downvote, because if you are going to do that at least give a reasonable explanation.

Undeniably racist

This guy went over on a total racist streak. He showed his hate towards China (disregarding that my post was about language only), the guy went over to totally ignore people from Taiwan and Hong Kong that don't consider themselves China, (although Taiwan is called "Republic of China", both mainland and island claim to be the "real" China) some people from Malasia and Singapore with chinese heritage also speak the language.

He went to completely ignore that the language is old and has ramifications and speakers all over the world. Even here in Brazil I know descendants that are friends of mine, some never went to Asia but speak Chinese (Mandarim or Cantonese) fluently because it was passed by from generation through generation.

It is absolutely ridiculous how people just accept blatant racism cases in this blockchain. This gives Hive a bad rep, we already have a rep of being a tinfoil hat community, we don't need a racism tag over our heads. I definitely do not want.

Proofs

@phusionphil is unquestionably racist against Chinese. You are free to question and boycott the country and the government, but WHY ATTACK INDIVIDUALS?!?! When you start attacking the language and it's speakers there is no way back, you are racist, you could very well have stuck with politics but once you attack individuals there is no other label.

_2021_09_22_at_15.02.56.jpg

Well, my post was literally only talking about the language. If your beef is against the government why do you attack the language and the individuals?

_2021_09_22_at_15.03.19.jpg

"I will choose not to care" and proceeds to downvote me with your trail TWICE. Also, for real, do you own POB? It is a genuine question, I did a quick 5 minutes research but did not find who created it, nor WHAT ARE THE RULES of the community.

_2021_09_22_at_15.04.41.jpg

Oh cute, he upvoted me to rendee... No wait, "you will be downvoted if
I see mandarim content in my feed" and there it goes his chance to try and pretend he is not racist...

Criticize the government is acceptable to me, totally. Attacking people for a language? No, there is no way Hive should accept it.

Things like this should be denounced. It is bad for our already small and bad reputation.

What does he do when exposed?

Attack back. He attacks back. I posted tagging the whole downvote trail asking for clarification.
He considers this "low quality content", despite it being relatively succesful for a small Hiver like me, and me putting effort to try to elucidate the facts, though I understand "quality/effort" is subjective:
@igormuba/i-have-got-an-army
_2021_09_22_at_15.23.48.jpg

Dude you seem to have real issues with yourself. I am sure there is an option to block here on Hive

Also, Hive is not supposed to have only PhD worthy content. It is a social network. If I wanted to post a picture of a cake I made and a recipe what kind of content would that be? Is it not worthy of the glorious Hive motherland?

You support so much freedom don't you? I can see it in your actions how much you value freedom of speech (syke)

Current downvote trail

_2021_09_22_at_15.06.23.jpg

Just a little while ago they again attacked me with their downvote trail. Luckily I have people that did like the content so it was a mediocre attack.

@steemvpn
@hive-vpn
@timhorton
@cerberus-dji
@hivecannabis
@zelegations

I wanted to ask you, why do you follow his downvoting trail? What good does he do for the communities with those hate attacks? Do you not see that his hate attacks put Hive rep on jeopardy?

I would first ask you what would be the reasons to follow so devotedly a... strong personality... Like this phil himself? What are the reasons?

Whatever they are, I would also like ask you to take a moment and reflect on his actions, his hate speech and racism and reconsider if that is the person you really want to represent you and Hive.

Conclusion

For good or for worse, Hive is an open platform that gives people unrivaled freedom of speech. It is up to us, users, to make it healthy. Everything posted in this blockchain will last forever (or so it is promissed) and I would not like it to be associated with hateful people that think their opinion and only theirs is valid.

This would be a great place, for it's freedom, to have discussions and exchange ideas, expand our views of the world. But some people insist on screaming and covering their ears, like children do, when presented with different views, opinions, facts or cultures (languages even).

Who really owns proof of brains?

I am still wondering who owns it and what are the goals/rules. If Phil owns it yeah, I want no association with it.

When I hear Proof of Brains at first I thought it was a community of rationale people posting meaning things.

Click here and vote me for witness on HiveSigner

Or use your preferred signing tool to vote me:


https://vote.hive.uno/@igormuba

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
49 Comments
Ecency