When my hair is unmade I don't look as bright

Taking care of my full wooly hair has been a chore. When I want to comb it, I need to summon all the energy it takes to do heavy lifting to comb it. I'm not joking. I have to get my hair wet, part it in sections with my fingers then comb from the tip of a section to the root and play repeat for all the small partings made.

My hair my pride

When I'm about to sleep I have to braid an ‘all back’ or ‘corn rows’ as it is fondly called or wake up to an excessively tangled mess of a painful combing routine again.

**I love it when I see ladies that style their hair in various beautiful ways that has you yearning to try them.

styling natural hair
source

For me, that only leads to a series of trial and error sessions which eventually leads to my default ribbon packing hairstlye as seen below.

532D7770-1007-4FEC-9F34-72BA56560303.jpeg

source

Having a natural hairdo restricts me to some hairstyles like dreads and natural hair attachments that blends with the hair.
I tried keeping my natural hair for 3years and finally decided this year that my feelings of comfort and less stress was most important, so I retouched my virgin hair.

Half way I feel and know for sure that getting my hair done in whichever way just makes my life easier as well as gives me such a glow.

There is something about braiding my hair that gives my face a sort of lift and shine. I love it when I braid and the freedom from the daily comb and braid routine is refreshing. Asides the pain of sleeping on the first night of braiding my hair; every other day feels like a breeze, I wake up and all I have to do is... brush, workout, have my bath and bask in the beauty of the day without a care in the world.

Looking good is good business

Then the hassle of the braid is before- sitting for hours to get it done and the end - loosing the braids. The outcome in between both feels worth it though.

588C70F7-DF12-41A4-B338-9D9A7BA03431.png

source

796A2A55-4410-4BE8-B500-E205460353D6.jpeg

source

You might wonder, with all this trouble that comes with having hair... ‘Why keep it? Cut it off then.’ Funny I have been there before (the compulsory low cut that comes with attending an all girls secondary school).
It was a nightmare. I disliked the comments of looking like a cute boy to feeling less feminine as I admired those with long beautiful hairdos that I dreamt of having my hair back and feeling more beautiful in the dream.

Nothing good comes easy

Although I know I can pull off a low cut look seamlessly now (because I'm grown mentally and love myself more now) but I love my hair on my head nonetheless with all the stress that comes with taking care of my wooly hair.

Kudos to all women out there, you put up with a lot to look your best as well as feel your best. Asides a day set aside to celebrate women. Today, I celebrate you🎉🎊 You are awesome, gorgeous and beautiful in and out. #love 😘 #hugs 🤗

Thanks for stopping by. Your comments and questions are very much welcomed as I will reply each one immediately I see them. Happy women's day lovelies😍 Do have a splendid week ahead from your girl mawa👩

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center