The Haka - Maori culture - @ladiesofhive contest #60

Have you been fortunate to experience a holiday from a religion or culture different than your own?
If so, tell us about it! If not, which would you choose to experience?

THE HAKA

When you visit New Zealand, you may see people address themselves as "Kiwi", which is derived from the country's iconic bird — Kiwi. Others may address themselves as "Maori" — Maori is the indigenous people of New Zealand.

The Haka.png

The Haka is a type of ceremonial dance in Maori culture. source

I got the privilege to work and talk with some Maori during a few first months. They take pride in their culture and they are well aware of the importance of practicing and preserving their traditions.

This video was from our farewell party before the apple harvesting and packing season ended. It was also the first time I saw a live performance of this dance. The dance kept me in awe with a lot of actions, their chanting and singing. I don't know if it's in their blood, but I think all Maori are such good singers.

Do you notice their face and actions during the performance?

It involves a lot of foot-stomping, tongue-sticking and hand motions. They did a lot of actions with their hands, slapping their hands against their chest and knees, their eyes were rolling and it looked like they control the whole room. It was so powerful and emotional that I cried after watching this. It gave me a goosebump at that time and every time I watch this video it still does.

old-youth-tAJog0uJkT0-unsplash.jpg
source
I told my friend I was a bit scared looking at them and they told me it was supposed to be like that. The Haka is traditionally performed when you face your opponent, it is a chance for you to show your power and scare the others. It motivates the warrior before the battle.

Nowadays, the Haka is also presented on other occasions, for example, in this video, our celebration.

602891d07f316ab9c13e52cc29e460c9.jpg
source
Watching their performance and from what I observed on TV, it gave me the impression that it is only males. However, my friend said that females can also do it, and there are some dances for women only. They also added that most of them have practiced it or know the basics of it.

The legend.

Legend has it that Tane-rore which is the son of Ama-nui-te-ra, the sun god, and Hine-raumati, represents summer, the Haka is the dance that tTane-rore often perform for his mother on a summer day.

The All Blacks.

If you're into rugby, you must have heard of the All Blacks — New Zealand national rugby team. They have won the WorldCup a few times. Before each match, you would see the whole team perform the Haka, a really strong performance that shows their physical strength and determination.

eight_col_190817AllBlacksHaka_001.jpg
source


I believe that the Haka is not just a dance, but a beautiful tradition that the Maori has successfully passed from one generation to the next. I hope that all cultures can keep our roots and customs, so the next generation can witness, experience and preserve them as we are united, but we are also unique in our own way.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center