My travel experience; ladies of hive #206

Hello family!💋 It is a new week and a new day. I give all glory to the almighty God for the miracle of sleeping and waking up. This week's topics are exceptional thanks to @priyanarc.

  1. What travel destination has impacted you the most, and why?

Though I have never traveled from my country to another country before, I've traveled within my country. On October 15th, 2020, I traveled to Lagos State, Nigeria, during the End SARS period. The End SARS period in Nigeria was a decentralized social movement and series of mass protests against police brutality in Nigeria that occurred on the 11th of October, 2020. This special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) is a notorious unit of the Nigerian police known for its long records of abuse against the Nigerian citizens. I was so happy when my long-distance relationship prince charming invited me over to Lagos State to spend the weekend with him. I was so excited and craved to see him...

Mike was one guy i was dating during my final year in the university, i must say that we were really into each other, but after our license exams he relocated from Bayelsa State to Lagos state Nigeria. Due to the nature of our jobs we couldn't see each other, the distance was affecting us... During the End SARS period we were both given a leave from work so we decided to meet. Though it wasn't safe to travel at a time like that, but we were both blinded by love.

Source

The journey from Bayelsa to lagos takes about seven to eight hours if there is no traffic, but with traffic it could take ten to fifteen hours. When the journey started, everywhere seemed peaceful, but when we reached benin i encountered something horrific....
The road was blocked and the protest was vicious, at that moment i started praying. I thought that it was my last day on earth, luckily no harm was done to anyone. We had to sleep inside the bus till the next day cause the road was blocked. There was no way for me to sleep for the fear of being robbed or something bad happening to me if i should close my eyes. I used Proverbs 3:24 to console myself " when thou liest down, thou shalt not be afraid: yea, thou shalt lie down and thy sleep shall be sweet.

Being far away from home with no familiar face around, i didn't dare bring out my cellphone in this kind if situation. I just quickly texted the few people i can of my were about, i held unto my bag tightly though it was really scary but i managed to rest my head. I can not believe that i spent a night outside on a bus with so many people i did not know...

The stress and the noise from the protest woke me up the following morning, i quickly checked my things and my cellphone. Knowing my things were in tact i haved a sigh of relief...

To cut this story of mine short ladies. I arrived at my destination successfully in the afternoon on Sunday 15th of October, 2020 Without any harm.

I learnt a lesson .... Not to travel or go anywhere when it is not safe. " prevention they say is better than cure".

  1. How do you create balance between giving to others and prioritizing your own needs?

It is written in the holy bible in luke 6:38 ' give, and it shall be given unto you'. This is one bible scripture that i will never forget. I was even tought in the Sunday school on sunday, believe me when i say that it is good to give. But we should also consider ourselves too when we give.

I grew up to be independent when i was still in the university after i lost my dad. Though my income was not much but i still find a way to give to my mom and siblings. Back then it wasn't really a problem for me because i didn't have any responsibilities of my own, i kind of shouldered all the responsibilities after my dad died to take care of my mom, that i forgot about myself. But when I got married... Somethings changed.

The weekly allowance i used to give to her turned into monthly allowance, it is not as if i earned much. But i still need to take good care of my child. Now i budget myself before doing anything, if the money i have is not enough for i and my family. I try the possible best i can to manage till am paid my salary , though I still give my mom and people around me the little i can. But i priortize my own needs.

Thank you all for stopping by at my space, and thank you for reading till the end. I really appreciate 💋

@somsome17.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center