I Love Rain But... || LOH #204

heavy-rain-4864257_1280.jpg

Rain rain, go away, come again another day, little Rukkie wants to…

This is the song that comes to mind whenever it rains during workdays for me. As much as I love rain and the cool atmosphere that comes after it. I really don't like it when it rains during workdays. It's a bit fair if the rain is mild but those heavy downpour is a no-no for me.

My work doesn't give me the liberty to take a “rain check”, which means no matter how heavy the rain turns out to be, I would still have to go to work and whenever it rains in the morning before I leave home for work, I immediately know that I would have to make adjustments to my dressing. It doesn't even help after I am fully dressed because I would have to remove my shoes, keep them in my bag and wear my flip flops instead, I would also have to wear my ”nylon raincoat” since Umbrellas are not always enough to withstand some heavy rains.

Another thing I don't like about heavy rain during workdays is the fact that transportation isn't always easy to find and when you do manage to find one, the bus fare would increase. I see this as a means of extortion by some of these bus drivers because they always knew people would have no choice but to pay the extra rather than to keep on waiting at the bus-stop and getting drenched by the rain.

Do I even want to mention some of the streets where there is no proper drainage system? Especially places that have no alternative routes. Most times, putting my legs into the black, dirty, flooded water as I try to pass through to work really irks me but then I would have no choice because I need to get to work.

Sometimes, early morning rain during workdays do make me feel disorganized especially when it's a heavy rain because it would mean I would get to work late due to the fact that I was waiting for it out for some time and also getting a bus to transport me to work and all that. So when I do finally get to work, it makes that day's work a bit dull for me.

But do I Hate It When It Rains?

Not entirely. I love it when it rains at night because the cold weather helps me sleep soundly. I love it when it rains on weekends when I am at home. That's the time I love rain the most because I barely have to go out.

IMG_20240624_172652_016.jpg

Staying indoors, just cooking, eating, sleeping, watching movies, reading while sipping on a hot cup of coffee while the rain pours down makes the weekend more enjoyable for me.

If I had the powers to choose the time and days it should rain, I would go for nights for weekends and ”anytime” during weekends.

Some people work on weekends or have one or two events to attend so they might not like it raining on weekends but for me, I think I love rain only when I would be able to enjoy it in the comforts of my home.

This is my entry to the first question posed for the LOH weekly contest. Click here to also participate.

Source to the first Image

The Second Image used is mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now