My Dearest Mother! - LOH Contest #185

Dear mother!
I am dedicating this post to you, but I am actually trying to find a good place to start... because there is so much to write, and I lack words to fully express what you mean to me.

My beautiful mother

My earliest memories of you are your beautiful, smiling face and your lovely soothing voice that makes me want to just be carried in your arms as you talked to me as though I understood what you said to me.

Then came the days of trying to take my first steps...it was you who held my hands, patiently encouraging me until I got to the point where you had to be running after me when I would run, afraid that I would fall and hurt myself.

You were my first friend and teacher, and I am glad that you are still my friend and teacher till date.

Dear mother!
I can't forget the many times you prayed that God would spare my life and make me great, because I was of frail health. You would stay with me, feeding me and nursing me back to health, telling me I must live to be great.

When my Dad died and you were left alone to take care of my brother and I, you were still in your twenties. You may not know, but several times I overheard the members of your family trying to convince you to remarry considering how young you were, but your mind was made up. Your only focus was to give my brother and I the best that is possible for you, so you rejected the suitors that approached you then. You put aside your own happiness to ensure that we could be taken care of.

You played the role that was meant for two, but you did without complaining. You started working extra hours just so you could have enough to take care of us. What about the times you tried venturing into different side hustles? I guess that really influenced me, for I discovered from you that it is okay to not put all your eggs in one basket when it comes to earning.

Ma, you are endowed with so much creativity, and you put your skills to use. You taught me what it means to be enterprising and industrious. With your baking and cooking skills, and your tailoring skills as well, you worked tirelessly to make sure we lacked nothing.

You were never afraid to learn something new as long as it would make a positive impact in our lives. Your creativity is on another level, from bead making and wirework (for jewellery, bags and purses) to making beautiful hats and fascinators. I am really glad that one of my own children is taking after you in that area, because you stirred her interest.

You are an epitome of selflessness, and everyone that comes in contact with you testifies to this. Even till date you are always so concerned about how I am faring.

You are such a great inspiration to me, Mummy, and I am grateful to God for choosing you to be my mother.

I love you so much, my dearest mother, and I pray that God will bless you with long life in good health, and give you overflowing joy so that we can take care of you as you are ageing, for you sacrificed a lot for my brother and I.

Lots of love from me,
Ngozi Winifred David (@ngwinndave).

P.S.
The Image used with permission from my mother, (Uchenna Iwegbu).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now