Do nothing? Impossible - let's remember our favourite childhood toys!

IMG_20230627_101310.jpg

This was an interesting morning. Maybe the word interesting can be replaced with a different one, with a word that would show a thread of surprises. Some of my actions finished with unexpected results, but we don't necessarily have to take them as bad outcomes. Anyway, you can judge them after reading the first two paragraphs. So, yesterday evening my husband asked me if I have some plans for today. I am officially on my summer school break which started this Monday. The last week (and the week before it) were super busy, but right now I don't have to go to work, the major projects are finished and we can take some calm days, with walks, going to the beach in the morning hours and maybe with some preparation for our upcoming road trip.

I was a bit lazy to get up for an early morning walk so my husband left alone and we met after an hour at one place where we like to swim. I drove there and the fun time started. Better than cleaning the home as I wanted to start doing it today. The water was clear, there were no waves so we used these perfect circumstances to swim. Chilling time and later again swim before we went home. It would be all nice but... I noticed pus coming out from my little cut as a result that one stitch didn't do its work anymore. I wanted to clean the whole apartment, but I guess I will have to leave it for at least a few days more and listen to the nurse who removed the stitches today and gave me an antibiotic ointment to calm down the infection. The bandage is back and I have to rest. What is good about this? Well, it is a major challenge for me to do nothing, but I have a few ideas - reading a book, watching TV maybe, more Hive and less cleaning 😂

Good plan, right?

There are always many posts on Hive you can read but also participate in challenges and initiatives that can give you some inspiration. Yesterday, I saw a post by @ruffatotmeee about her favourite toys from her childhood. It was her entry to the Ladies of Hive Community Contest #140 answering the question What was your favourite toy when you were young?

I remembered some of the moments from my childhood and according to the new circumstances that I have to stay away from cleaning and swimming, some of my memories from my childhood are coming here now. Writing does not require a lot of physical effort, so I guess we will see me more active these days. Maybe. :D

Ok, let's see what were my favourite toys when I was a child.

I remember living in an old house (it was not that old, but I called it old before we moved to the new one) with a garden. I was spending time outside, probably with balls, riding a little grey bicycle, and playing with the petals of the flowers and puddles after the rain. Once I fell into the basement (oops) trying to catch a ball. We had a dog, always several cats so spending time with the four-legged ones was something I loved.

From toys, I remember one doll and her dresses that my mom and grandmother made for her, and an improvised doll house from my father's toolbox he didn't use anymore. One of the nice memories I also have is playing with trains and a railway, on a wooden platform my father made. To make decoration (trees and houses that were placed by the rails) we used marzipan! At that time I didn't like it so instead of eating it we formed some figures of it! (Now I do like to eat marzipan). I also had a few little cars and a mirror, hair brush and sun glasses that I bought (asked my parents to buy) at one street market. I remember it because I accidentally broke the sunglasses even before we arrived home. 😆

Soft toys. Had a few ones, and they were my little "students". I was teaching them, but not music. What was the subject... (fancy a guessing game? :D) It was already when I was around 9 or 10 years old.

The only photo where I can be seen with a toy is the following one. I was in the garden of my great-grandmother, playing with a toy scale. What is so funny in this photo is my hair, I have no idea why I had it that short and in that weird shape hahaha. I found this photo in one of my old photo albums.

IMG_20230627_162723.jpg

The only soft toy, or we can say stuffed toy I still have with me is Maxi. He has a zip on his back where we can store other, smaller soft toys or small garments. I got Maxi from one of my aunts, my sister had one too, but I don't know does she still keep it.

IMG_20230627_163114.jpg

But wait, the story of my favourite childhood toys doesn't finish here. You know, I always say that piano has been my favourite toy. 🎹
Although it is not a just toy - I play it. It needs my imagination to create a sound on it, of course I also need skills and a lot of practicing but there is a connection with toys. Play a musical instrument as a child plays with its favourite toy.

Instead of a conclusion, just a few additional words. This was my very first post in the Ladies of Hive community, I am not sure why I haven't posted in it earlier. But as I said, we get inspired reading other people's posts, so if you think you want to share your favourite toy from your childhood feel free to check out the invitation post for this contest!

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center