#ttt Mashup Madness!

IT'S THREE TUNE TUESDAYYYYY!!


agility-ga4961890e_640.jpg
Photo by Pexels on Pixabay

This week I'd like to share a guilty pleasure of mine...

No matter if a song you hear is your favorite, or the last one in the world you want to hear, it evokes a feeling- Right?! It can't just be me, if I know the song, it has a feeling. Unavoidable top hits find you in restaurants, shopping areas, and cars. There are thousands of songs that would be recognizable to most people I know. So sometimes I'll "play" one.

These songs carry memories, and this is the best aspect of my guilty pleasure. I'll put on a song that the person I'm with will definitely recognize by the intro. Maybe it is positive, maybe not. Then BANG wait a minute... that isn't how this song goes!

I absolutely love mashups! A mash-up is the convergence of two (usually totally different) songs. Oftentimes, I like the combination of the two songs more than I like either on its own! Here are three that I think are a ton of fun :)


Stinkfist meets T-Swift


Any of my friends would find the intro to Stinkfist familiar, so when Taylor Swift suddenly starts singing, they are rightly confused! I like this mash up a lot because the upbeat vocals of pop (even in a break-up song) really stand out against a sick guitar rift.

Despite being a total punk kid at heart, I can enjoy some T-Swift from time to time. I remember this song fondly from the end of a four year relationship- but spolier alert, we totally got back together... for a bit. Tool on the other hand, is just a timeless fav of mine.



Amazing, am I right?! I love any mashup that melds pop and metal!



Mother was a Rollin Stone


Two songs seem to have a conversation here- Is Glen Danzig the rolling stone who left home before the Temptations were old enough to know him? As the son in the song asks his mom to tell him true about the kind of man his dad is, she describes... the kind of man who could show you hell. hmmm.


Kudos to whoever thought to meld these two great songs, in my opinion they fit together like a glove- what do you think?



Beat it Still


Uuuuhhhhhhhh! This song is funky and fierce all at once! I can't hear this without my foot beginning to tap, electricity filling my body, urging me to dance :)



Feeling groovy or what?! I like this mashup a lot, because it isn't two contradictory genres, they complement and build on one another. I personally like the combination of the two more than I like either of the originals. Mashups are magic!



Had you ever heard of mashups before my post? If this is your first-time hearing some, I highly encourage you to type the name of a favorite song + mashup into youtube- if it's a popular song, I'll bet there are mash ups! I've found so many fun ones like that!

Props to @ablaze who started #ttt and encourages people to tag him so he can check out their songs! It was a blast to share my guilty pleasure with you all 😁

footer.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now