Love feast cooking with a friend went bad. LOH#207

Happy Sunday to everyone in this community and do have a beautiful week ahead. The question is my memorable kitchen story. Let's gošŸ‘‡
I wonā€™t say Iā€™m a bad cook; I genuinely love kitchen activities, and trying out new meals is my hobby. The kitchen is one of my favorite places, and I enjoy cooking multiple dishes at once. Without a doubt, I love cooking.

One day, we had a love feast to organize at the church, and my friend Yinka and I were tasked with preparing food for 50 people: jollof rice and fried rice. While I prefer cooking alone because I don't like to do it this way or that, I had no choice this time. I provided her with a list of ingredientsā€”rice, seasoning, tin tomatoes, curry, thyme, meat, vegetable oil, and so on. However, Yinka tried to manage our resources by not buying accurately, fully aware that we would not have enough. Why did she have to manage?

pexels-khalid-aljmman-131373-7155407.jpg
source

One thing I absolutely detest is cooking without the necessary ingredients. As we began preparing, I quickly realized Yinka hadnā€™t bought enough items. At this point, I was seriously concerned about the quality of the food, so I decided to let her take the lead in cooking, not wanting to serve anything that people might reject. I lost interest quickly but I had to let go.

Sadly, the jollof rice turned out to be the worst I had ever seen. As we cooked, the rice stubbornly refused to come together, appearing undercooked. In her attempt to fix it, Yinka kept adding more water, unaware that this would only worsen the situation. Ultimately, the jollof rice ended up as a disappointing, half-done, watery unpleasant rice. As the outcome was becoming a disaster, a starving person would hesitate to eat it.

For five long minutes, we stood there, exchanging blank stares at each other, unsure of how to proceed. I was so furious and disappointedšŸ˜ž After our silent deliberation, we decided to roll over to make the fried rice, letting go of the jollof rice disaster. The comforting aroma of the fried rice brought joy back to my face. We had accepted whatever people would say about the jollof rice and found delight in our newfound creation. I guess she learned from her mistakes at that moment,

Snapchat-1347900378.jpg
See the face behind the lovefeastšŸ¤£

Just as our thoughts flowed, people rejected the jollof ricešŸ¤£šŸ¤£, people
that has been salivating for the food was shocked to see the outcome when the food was servedšŸ˜• šŸ˜ž we heard people give it different names; some called it overcooked, some said it looked like infant poopšŸ¤£ some asked, do we cook for our husbands in this manneršŸ¤”All manners of talk were coming out instead of a sweet compliment. Our jollof rice was rendered a waste. It was clear that it would not earn any compliments, but at least we had our delicious fried rice to share.

This is my response to the #ladiesofhive writing contest #207. Thank you, @merit.ahama for choosing something funny to make the week fun.

The image 1 is sourced while the 2nd image is mine.

Thank you for sharing your time with me. Feel free to interact with me in the comment section.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center