LOH Community Contest #202 ~ My Effective Hair Care Solution

Given the influence of global beauty standards on our perceptions of hair, many individuals strive for thick and strong hair to achieve their desired styles. Hair loss can be particularly distressing and is often perceived as a significant issue. Have you experienced hair loss yourself? If so, how did it impact your emotional well-being? Were you able to identify an effective solution, or have you found ways to cope with it calmly and confidently?




FB_IMG_16492639587550902.jpg

When I started grooming my hair, I was naive, not like I had plans for it, I was just growing my hair back, after I cut it low due to some circumstances at the moment back then, at first, I just wanted to have hair on my head, didn't think it through whether I was going to be in the relaxed or natural hair gang.

I just wanted something to cover my head, few months down the lane, I decided to go natural, and since I was naive about the do's and don't and since I had never been on natural before, in short, back then, it was rare to see an individual on natural hair except it was due to their church doctrine and those people were just doing the normal like every lady with hair. Few or no YouTube talking about natural hair and not many low-budget natural hair products to help one curb their hair.




IMG_20221229_025604.jpg

So, I was just maneuvering the hair the best way I could, but I noticed that I had too many issues, at that time, always falling off, looking dull, and for years remained at a particular length. I almost wanted to give up on the natural hair journey but I got spurred one day when someone laughed at how my hair was looking shabby, unhealthy, and an eyesore although she wasn't wrong but I knew I had to do something.

So, I went on all social media to get remedies to tackle my hair, what my hair type was, how to tackle hair loss, products to use, how to take care of my hair even on braids, when losing and on my wash day, what hairstyles to make, and the do and don't of natural hair.




IMG-20240910-WA0036.jpg

It took me years to be able to incorporate everything into my hair, I searched and bought good products for natural hair, added ayurvedic herbs to my wash day routine that help with preventing lice and dandruff, it helps with adding shine to my hair, conditioning my hair and moisturizing it and at the same time, making it healthy while it grew.

Started treating my hair once or twice in two weeks depending on when I have the time, made sure not to have tight braids on, and made sure to always moisturize my hair with my leave-in conditioner, and sealant, massage my scalp weekly, and made sure to always have my silk bonnet on before going to bed.




IMG-20240910-WA0032.jpg

Being consistent with the hair products I use or hair care practice and patient when losing my hair, having the right hair tools, and being gentle with my hair. Also making sure to teach or tell any hair stylist who I feel doesn't know how to handle or care for natural hair how it is done to avoid them treating my hair just anyhow.

This hair care routine and knowledge has helped me groom my hair to not just my admiration but also, to the admiration of people that I get complimented everywhere I go and that gives me so much happiness.




This is my entry to Ladies of Hive Community Contest #202




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center