💜Mommy's Mental Health CHAPTER 60 - Learning the value of "No"💜

IMG_20240928_110356.jpg

It's not easy for me to say no. To anything. In fact, it's near impossible. I am not sure where the programming comes from, but I am a people pleaser, to the point that it becomes detrimental to me.

I have allowed this part of my personality to destroy me for as long as I can remember.

I finally, after months of waiting, was selected to work on a lovely book, but soon discovered that what the client wanted was beyond my skill level. I had already signed the contract and was having panic attacks every time I tried to make heads or tails of the project.

After much thought and deliberation, I decided to reach out to the client and the platform admin to explain myself and have me removed from the project.

I was terrified.

As it turns out, the reaction of both the client and the admin team was extremely caring and understanding. They appreciated my honesty.

I was concerned with the implications that my profile would suffer. I have worked so hard to build myself up. But it looks like I was granted mercy and I have not been downgraded. What a relief.

So what have I learned from this experience?

Don't take on projects hastily and without going through the outline very carefully
It's ok to say no, but I shouldn't sign anything until I am 100% sure that the project is within my skill range.

So what is next? I want to upskill to be able to write recipe books. It's a specialized niche. Those of ypu who know me well will know I also have a blog series about my kitchen adventures in Claire's Crazy Bakes and Kitchen Hacks.

I have fallen into a niche of ghostwriting self help and psychology books, and while these subjects are really important to me, I have not yet actually studied psychology and have had to learn a lot, very fast. From the experience with my last two projects, I realized that the amount of extensions I would need to complete the project would end up frustrating the client and causing me terrible stress as we get paid per word, not per hour for research. I would be running at a loss.

I had to put my pride in my pocket and fight against my instinct to please others, but ultimately I think I made the right decision.

I am actually proud of myself.

It looks like I am growing after all 💜 and I think that is largely thanks to this blog. So thank you to everyone who has been reading it, connecting with me and supporting me.

Also, Happy 60th Chapter to me!!! 🎉⭐❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center