❤️ 🧶 🧵Knot Another Knitting Tutorial -Part 7 - Oogieliboos❤️ 🧶 🧵

So, having finished my 1st knitting project, I am happy to say we are moving on to our next one! Apparently, everyone in my family now wants one as Aime gleefully claimed the 1st. It is so cozy she never takes it off!

So, What is an Oogieliboo?

And What on earth does Star Trek have to do with it?

Well, if I have to pick a side, I am more of a Star Wars girl, but to be honest, I really think we should stop comparing them all together. The only thing Star Trek and Star Wars have in common is that they're both set in space. otherwise they're completely different genres and I think its absolutely fine to love both.

Well, @zakludick and I are educating the kids and letting them watch Star Trek in chronological order, right from the very very beginning. It was a bit tough to get through the 1st few episodes, but once you're into it, it's quite awesome to see how the relationships build between the actors and just how awesome William Shatner, Leonard Nemoy and all the other actors were in the original series. We've now moved on to Next Generation, which is what I grew up with. With Patrick Steward now at the Helm as Captain Jean Luke Pickard - it's taking a while for us to get into this too. In hindsight, I am so glad we're doing a thorough job and we're learning to love a new cast.

We are also re-watching Big Bang Theory and the jokes are definitely making more sense to the kids now, which is awesome!

Back to Oogieliboos and knitting...

So, the graphics back in the 70's were pretty primitive before George Lucas came along and revolutionized everything with ILM (although much credit must be given to the art departments and set directors for needing to build everything, quite literally, and making it believable).

Anyway - I keep getting sidetracked - So we dubbed the non-humanoid shaped and unexplainable extra terrestrials Oogieliboos.

Since I am not sure what I am crafting with my knitting: it's not quite a blanket, not quite a shawl, and too big to be a scarf, I decided to call them Oogieliboos too!

Everyone wants one in a different colour!

So the pink one I just finished went to @aimeludick
The denim blue one I just started will go to @zakludick
@matthew-williams wants a red one
And I'll make a green one for @merenludick

Then I can actually start knitting for charity like I intended!

I am just so glad it's turned out that I love knitting as much as my family loves what I've been making. Even if they don't make sense - conventionally anyway :p I'm definitely considering sewing in pockets.... what do you think?

I am so chuffed with how much progress I've made in such a short time! And look how Lexi approves. It's not even really big enough for her to sit on, but you know how it goes, "if it fits I sits" and who am I to argue with that :p

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center