Sometimes, Happiness Is Golden Brown -LOH #208

Anytime I feel heartbroken, fried plantain reminds me that there is more to life than whatever is happening to me. One of my friends always say, God bless God for creating plantain but whoever brought the idea that ripe plantain should be fried has a special place in Heaven.

I remember one particular time, I came home from work really sad. I was even teary but I knew the reason behind my sadness wasn’t worth my tears. When I got home, I started narrating everything to my mom. She couldn’t even hear what I was saying because I couldn’t speak well. I had already called her to tell her everything on the phone before coming home but according to her, she didnt really understand me.

At a point, I didnt even know if she was just trying to make fun of me or the situation by trying to let me repeat it countless times. I later got angry at her and asked her not to ask me anything again. I prepared to go to my favorite place; the beach. At least stay for a while and then come back home when I’m better because I still had to face the same person at work the following day.

When she saw me about to leave the house, she asked me to eat before leaving. She had just finished frying plantain with eggs and didn’t want me to go out on an empty stomach. I thought I didn’t have appetite until the aroma said hi to me. I sat down quietly and devoured the food like my life depended on it. After I was done, my mom asked me to repeat the story one more time.

Ladies and gentlemen, I couldn’t even remember anything. All I was mentioning was the name of the person who annoyed me at work. She was even surprised how I could forget something I had already narrated about three times. I had completely forgotten I was angry and there was no trace of tears in my eyes.

We both laughed at the situation for a while and then I realized there was no problem good food couldn’t solve. Since then, fried plantain has become my happy meal. The sweetness in it hits different and finds a way to erase your memory of any bad thing happening to you.

Anytime I’m having a bad day, I make a point to treat myself to fried plantain. All I need is ripe plantain. I peel it, cut it into smaller pieces and add the secret ingredient; salt. Fried plantain is nice but frying it with a little salt makes it heavenly. I fry it in very hot oil and remove it when it looks golden brown. Viola! Heaven on earth.

I have come to discover that, the happiness fried plantain gives me is unmatched. Now I know that no matter what life throws at me, I can I always overcome with fried plantain by my side. Hehe.

Images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center