ECOTRAIN QOTW 10.5: Share a story about one of your favourite Nature experiences. Why is connecting with nature important?

img_0.3302487585443881.jpg

The talk of Nature and it's wonderful creations leaves me in mystery Everytime as to what God has created. I mean when you take a hike to places outside our digital world to where only nature speaks to you, connect with nature and get to experience different melodies of nature.
I am sure everyone loves nature, because i don't joke with taking a hike at my free time even though that comes ones in a blue moon.
Not withstanding that, my first time experiencing nature was when i took a trip with my Dad. That's was a very long time ago and i was only 12years old then.

MY FAVOURITE NATURE EXPERIENCE WAS WITH MY DAD.

  • The trip was one i could never forget and was one of favourites, we went outside my resident state to another state. We camped for a two nights, it was the first time i held a hunting riffle even though i didn't fire it because we only took it for protection, you can't be too careful.
    we climbed ontop a mountain were i looked down and around, seeing nature but green 💚 everywhere. Modern world could be seen in distant as i could hear birds chirping, and other animal noises far and within.

I didn't have a mobile phone them nor camera to capture those lovely moments and the fact that was the first time i saw the animal called idiot (I was surprised when my dad told me this is the animal called idiot, i couldn't get a much close look because it was a bit far from were we stood).
Out of curiosity i tried to draw closer but when i did i couldn't find it anymore, guess it disappeared or hide somewhere.

  • That was when i learnt about some roots that can be used to cure malaria and typhoid, my dad showed them to me. He even prepared a medicine just to show me how to combine the herbs properly, which technically i have forgotten most of the steps as of this moment. Maybe still need to ask him if the need arises 😂.

  • We did set a trap though and killed a rabbit, which we grilled and it served as dinner for the first night. It was so delicious that i wanted more but it was just one so there is nothing else i could do other than maybe try catching another one.

  • Second night was mostly filled with stories, I ate snacks because i wasn't feeling hungry due to the stories. I didn't want anything that would break the story so i paid my utmost attention as he narrated it all till the end.

That was my first and last time taking a hike to connect with nature, with my dad though. It was alot of fun as i learnt alot from him. He knows history very well so he entertained me with alot of stories about the Nigerian/Biafran civil war, what caused the war and how many igbos lost there lives.
Also how he barely survived during those times, told me how he escaped a massacre at 3 different places, and another one at a refugee camp where one of the natives almost killed him. The only that saved him was because he could speak the language of that particular land a little and also knew people in that refugee camp that was respected by everyone, he told me how God saved him from death countless of times.

I was saddened after hearing this stories, because my uncle and my dad has the same facial structure and you might mistake them for twins, he was mistaken for my father alot of times which saved his life too.
People at the camp often called him my dad because of the resemblance.

Anyways back to the real world, it was indeed a thrilling experience because i learnt alot.

WHY IS CONNECTING WITH NATURE SO IMPORTANT TO ME?

It gives me a sense of belonging as to getting to know my natural environment, reliefs my stress and anxiety. Makes me explore my environment.
Far away from the digital world, there is a better world out there.
To be sincere with you guys i believe that's the only place you can find peaceful and quiet.
That's why i don't joke with nature and it's very important to me

Thank you my lovely people 💚💚
Have blessed week ahead 💚💚💚

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency