7 Smaller Curb-Salvaged Items Saved And Sold For $327 - Every Bit Counts

I’m sitting at a poker table writing this post to stay patient and wait for the good cards to come my way.

I thought this idea would work as I put my phone down before writing this update for pocket aces now. I bet 34x the blind preflop ($17 to reraise someone who bet $2.50), but just lost to him with his 10-5 offsuit, who called my strong bets to the river on a 5 high spade draw. The weak flush missed, which was a bad call because I could’ve had a higher spade. Cool. Ironically, he runner-runner caught a weird low straight to sabotage me. Oh well, I’m still up enough on the night to absorb this and will launch this post to get my karma back on track.

[Update at the end = I doubled my money on the night.]


Here are 7 recent curb-recycled sales...

9375D513-854E-4F3B-9C3A-B6F3B40FD23E.jpeg

I found this label printer on Tuesday and sold it online on Thursday for $75. These are quick sellers, usually moving within 24 hours if the price is good.

Weight with recycled packaging of 2 pounds 6 ounces.


07654BC0-3979-4FA5-87F8-BF5FBED34F77.jpeg

I found another one of these last week and sold it online for $50 because it was missing the paper spool. It worked as is, but the spool was about $15 to replace, so I gave a discount to account.

Weight with recycled packaging of 2 pounds 12 ounces.


3CB73361-8504-4B8A-9115-0056104B2506.jpeg

This power vacuum hose was tested and sold online for $59. This is a common model that always sells over time. Depending on color, it can go for up to $15 more or so.

Weight of recycled item before USPS flat rate packaging of 2 pounds 10 ounces.


1B304E57-9EB5-41AE-B577-FCED475A4A96.jpeg

This specialized lighted vacuum handle sold online for $55. I almost didn’t realize that this detached from the standard non-electric hose, or else I’d have sold it with one of my complete vacuums for cash. It was a little worn, or else I’d have been able to get $15 more. They retail for $100 new.

Weight with recycled packaging of 1 pound 6 ounces.


49A4FE03-35C3-40AA-80D4-38D2E07F670F.jpeg

This stroller storage net was sold online for $26. I took the full stroller home to sell for cash, but later realized that it had an issue. Instead of putting it back on the curb, I took a few small parts off to list and reward myself for carry it around for a few hours. The buyer was very happy.

Weight with recycled packaging of 6 ounces.


7E45EF3E-69B7-483D-A01E-9693B3CB01BD.jpeg

This wireless iPod player was a small win at $25 online. I found two of these and debated donating them to focus on more efficient sales, but decided to take the small wins by listing them.

Weight with recycled packaging of 15 ounces.


A12C95B8-F95F-4976-AF9B-3B272A2F282C.jpeg

Beware of more vacuum parts. This small vacuum motor sold online for parts/repair for $37. I chose to go through parting out the larger unit and listing the components because it was a hard-to-find item. I mainly wanted to help others not need to buy a new unit.

Weight with recycled packaging of 2 pounds 6 ounces.


Summary:

  • 7 items sold for $327 / 7 = $46.7 revenue per item
  • All items sold online (no cash).
  • No cost for repair, etc..
  • Weight of recycled items and materials of 12 pounds 4 ounces. Not much, but 7 items bought by people who needed them. This saves the need to buy new retail items.
  • One item shipped with a flat rate package to save on cost.

Thanks to everyone for their support and engagement on my last stream of posts. It’s been good motivation to keep building here, and to do more to share with everyone here.

In closing, as those who know me over the years can appreciate, the value in my post isn't in the entertainment from the handful of items I post about. It's about the passion and hustle I consistently exhibit off-chain to produce the posts, and goal of motivating others to address this problem. Hive is not the answer. Actions are the answer.

Thanks as always for your interest and support.

Liquid proceeds from this post will go towards my @splinterlands Plot.

Please reuse, repurpose and recycle.

My last two recycling posts:

@steemmatt

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center