A Nice $1,800+ Haul From The Curbs Last Night + Found A Late Hall Of Fame Hockey Player's Stuff

Here's an example of a nice night of free stuff from my city's curbs for a nice bit of money. I took the shot from the stairs above, so this took some of the depth away of what I have there.

image.png

Notably, I used only my backpack and a reusable grocery bag I found outside to carry everything in the picture home at the same time, definitely half a mile. As I didn't find all of this at once, I sort of keep going until I really can't do any more. In the cold at 4:30 AM, it was time to pack it in. I didn't do my entire route, but I couldn't practically unless I hid stuff to come back to later. Also, the stack of large books don't look as significant as they were. They were heavy on my tired body after lugging a bunch of stuff around for a while (good exercise). Slightly more than half of them in my backpack almost made me topple over several times. It was kind of funny at the time, but I used my legs to deliver the goods back and up 4 flights.

I've been sick for a bit, so I took it easy to try to recover faster. It was cold and late when I decided to get some fresh air instead of sleep, so I started my march at around 2:30 AM.


Here's a breakdown of the haul and some bonus finds.

First is the Litter Robot 3. The past two I've found sold within 24 hours, but I listed this one in the early evening to likely break that streak.

Here's the lovely sight as I found it:

image.png

Here it is cleaned and tested, ready for listing at $400 cash. I left some litter in there for the customer to see how it operates if they're not familiar.

image.png


Other stuff (left to right):

  • Antique signed Val St Lambert elegant lead crystal plate in perfect condition. ($50)
  • Sealed new ResMed CPAP hoses, mask, and assorted parts ($100)
  • Barely worn Italian Golden Goose distressed women's leather boots ($175)
  • Partial Lego Ironman set 76125 (N/A)
  • Vintage Italian designer label interwoven leather shoulder bag. ($75)
  • Working Litter Robot 3 ($400)
  • Gemology textbook ($50)
  • GIA Gem lab handbook ($75)
  • Designer label Italian leather clutch ($60)
  • Dyson powerhead in mint condition ($50)
  • Large stack of gemology quarterly issues ($250)
  • Rare gem specialty issue books ($500+)
  • 1938 Dr. Seuss book The 500 Hats ($20)

That's a rough sum of $1,805. Even if my estimates are WAY off, I'm still looking at $1,500 in revenue. Sweet.

More info:

  • The ResMed parts were actually in a package that was addressed to a late NHL Hockey legend who's in the Hall of Fame. There was some stuff in the bags for his team, but nothing that seemed valuable. I probably didn't dig enough in all the bags to find a real keeper, or the ResMed CPAP machine I found virtually everything else for. I didn't realize the player's formal name on the label at the time, but quickly figured it out when I went home and looked up the name on the label. The address also matched online records. I went back today to dig more, but the stuff had just been picked up. There was a document loose on the curb today with his name on it again, so he was confirmed.

  • The boots originally retailed for over $1,200 and are already at the shoe repair place to get a proper shining/conditioning for $15. The soles were original and barely worn.

  • I've found these quarterly gemology issues before and had no issue selling them for much more than $250 since there were a bit more than double in the last set I had. It's hard to find these in large sets, so it'll be a good mover.

  • The black gem speciality issues are super valuable. I have about 10 of them, many selling in the $50-$75 range each (used). The best part is that 4 of them are sealed new, which is going to jack the price up! I think a few new books could fetch $100 each..


Finish Line? Nah.

I got back in and to bed by around 5 AM because I wasn't able to carry much more without falling over. The books were tough between my backpack and one hand carrying a loaded bag, while the litter robot took up an entire arm/shoulder at times.

I was fortunate that the recycling wasn't picked up at the normal time when I went out for normal life today, so I walked over the spots I didn't hit last night to ultimately take this stack of books home:

image.png

  • The knives annuals will probably sell for $60 as a set.
  • The gun digests will be easier to sell as a set for about $120.

While not major money for today's stack of books for the space, I felt that people would really appreciate these, so I took them.

They weight plenty, so that's the biggest win. Media Mail shipping is dirt cheap.


Helping My Friend:

Next up is a a TV I found for my friend a week after theirs failed. I found it at 2 AM and after getting a new remote to change the settings, it works! It has an intermittent color fading issue on a part of the display, but I think I can solve this with a little troubleshooting/checking wires inside. You'll see that it looks fine below.

Ironically, I found 2 or 3 TVs the first night they reported theirs as broken, but they weren't home and chose to wait until I found more. I've spoiled them.

Their cat Tommy enjoyed inspecting it.

image.png

On their wall ready for bad television shows.

image.png


They also like vintage slides, and took a few home after a walk we went a while back.

Naturally, I found this vintage Kodak slide viewer outside shortly after and passed it along so they could admire their slides...

image.png

Looks like they picked out a special [redacted] pic in the name of art.

image.png
[Source](my weird friend)

Hah.

I also took this highly detailed book for myself.

image.png


That's it for now. I didn't sell too much when I was sick, or walk outside, but I'm getting back on track now. I have a sale for $120 cash for a coat I found outside set for tomorrow and will start pumping new listings out ASAP to get some powder for our latest crypto dip.

I'll be taking a nap now and going outside again when I get up. For the love of the game and the environment.

Thanks for your interest and support. Liquid rewards will go to my game plan for buying a Splinterlands Plot.

@steemmatt

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency