PROJECT: PRODUCTIVE GARDEN // PROYECTO: JARDIN PRODUCTIVO [ENG-ESP]

PROJECT: PRODUCTIVE GARDEN // PROYECTO: JARDIN PRODUCTIVO [ENG-ESP]


Hello dear Hivers, it is a pleasure to greet this beautiful community that inspires about sustainability issues and how they influence us, every project we get involved in. Over time I have seen the importance of producing some vegetables and fruits by ourselves, the ones we want to eat at home. Each family can make a concerted effort and plan what things can be grown for the benefit of all. This causes a feeling of accomplishment and satisfaction in the children and adults.

I have a 5-year-old nephew who gets excited and tells me about his home grain farming every time I talk to him, as his parents have taught him how to plant. When the child waters each plant and sees how each day they grow, it makes him feel happy and with emotion he tells it as a personal achievement, it creates responsibility and love for the work. This shows that having a productive garden affects emotionally, mentally and physically those who are involved in it. Growing and harvesting at home, produces an integral benefit that I myself have experienced and I believe that others should feel it too if they are encouraged to do so. For this reason I want to tell you about my project of my productive garden at home.

I have started to resume my interest in ornamental plants and culinary uses, after moving to the city whose house is not my own, but of which I will be in it for a while. Although I don't have much space, I'm going to use about 10m2 that are available at the back of the house, with arable land. I also plan to use some pots for planting to take advantage of every possible space. In this opportunity, I want to develop a garden with medicinal plants, fruit trees, vegetables and grains. For now, to begin with, I am preparing the soil in small pieces, to see how the sowings look like. I want this place in the house, where I am going to sow and harvest, to be a beautiful and organized place, something to be proud of and that gives me pleasure to observe and work in it.

Hola queridos Hivers, es un gusto saludar a esta hermosa comunidad que inspira sobre temas de sustentabilidad y de cómo influyen en nosotros, cada proyecto en que nos involucramos. A través del tiempo he visto la importancia de producir algunos vegetales y frutas por nosotros mismos, los que queremos comer en casa. Cada familia puede hacer un esfuerzo en conjunto y planificar qué cosas se pueden cultivar para el beneficio de todos. Esto causa un sentimiento de logro y satisfacción en los niños y en los adultos.

Tengo un sobrino de 5 años que se emociona y me cuenta de su cultivo de granos en casa cada vez que converso con él, pues sus padres lo han enseñado a sembrar. Cuando el niño riega cada planta y ve como cada día van creciendo, lo hacen sentir feliz y con emoción lo cuenta como un logro personal, le crea responsabilidad y amor por el trabajo. Con esto se ve que el tener un jardín productivo afecta de manera emocional, mental y físicamente a los que se involucran en hacerlo. Cultivar y cosechar en casa, produce un beneficio integral que yo mismo he experimentado y creo que otros lo deben sentir también si se animan a hacerlo. Por este motivo quiero relatarles mi proyecto de mi jardín productivo en casa.

He empezado a retomar mi interés por las plantas ornamentales y de usos culinarios, después de mudarme a la ciudad cuya casa no es propia, pero del que estaré un tiempo en ella. Aunque no tengo mucho espacio, voy a provechar unos 10m2 que hay disponibles en la parte de atrás de la casa, con tierra cultivable. También pienso usar algunas macetas para plantar y así aprovechar todo lugar posible. En esta oportunidad, quiero desarrollar un jardín con plantas medicinales, frutales, hortalizas y granos. Por ahora, para empezar estoy preparando la tierra por pedazos pequeños, a ver como quedan las siembras. Quiero que éste sitio de la casa, donde voy a sembrar y cosechar, sea un lugar bonito y organizado, algo de que sentirme orgulloso y que me dé gusto al observarlo y al trabajar en él.

1658761703896.jpg

1654299165115.png

1658761703855.jpg

1654299165115.png

HOW MY LOVE FOR PLANTS BEGAN

I grew up in a house where I had no land to plant, in fact I lived on the second floor of the house. However, I remember that my mother had in a place outdoors, big and small pots, baskets and hanging pots with any kind of ornamental plants. At the beginning my job was simple, like taking care of watering them, with time, my mother would tell me: "they will thank you for it" hahahaha that was her saying. I also saw the time she spent cleaning them, giving them vitamins and even talking and singing to them, just imagine! But then, seeing this and now motivated by the desire to sell plants, I began with my mom's permission to take off shoots or children of these and transplant them. I used the empty pots of the two liter plastic soda bottles, and I used the bottom part of the container, the one that served as supports for the bottles, remember? Hahahaha... I collected the soda containers and removed the bottom bases, they were usually black, and in the end those were my nurseries, there I sowed the plants to sell them. Those were my beginnings with the passion of growing plants.

Eventually, after I got married, I was able to buy a piece of land large enough to plant and grow fruit trees, make gardens and achieve one of my personal goals, to have a large, beautiful and productive garden. That is where we lived for fifteen years, but due to health and economic problems we had to sell it. Now I am in a house of a friend who is out of the country, and although I have no idea how long I will be here, I decided to take up the idea of playing with the little space I have, to cultivate it and reactivate my passion for plants. Even though I don't sing to them like my mother did, when I clean them, they give me a sense of peace, it de-stresses me, they make me feel like they need me to be beautiful and happy. And as I mentioned at the beginning, dedicating my free time to this, helps me in an integral way because I can think calmly, I can observe them and this makes my affection towards plants grow.

COMO COMENZO MI AMOR POR LAS PLANTAS

Crecí en una casa donde no tenía tierras para sembrar, de hecho vivía en un segundo piso de esta. Sin embargo, recuero que mi madre tenía en un sitio al aire libre, macetas grandes y pequeñas, cestas y macetas colgantes con cualquier clase de plantas ornamentales. Al principio mi labor era sencillo, como encargarme de echarles agua, con el tiempo, me decía mi madre: “ellas te lo agradecerán” jajajaja ese era su refrán. Yo veía también el tiempo que ella le dedicaba a limpiarlas, ponerles vitaminas e incluso les hablaba y cantaba, imagínense! Pero luego, viendo esto y ahora motivado por el deseo de vender plantas, comencé con el permiso de mi mamá a sacar retoños o hijos de estas y a trasplantarlos. Utilizaba los potes vacíos de las botellas plásticas de refresco de dos litros, y usaba la parte de abajo del envase, esa que servía de soportes a las botellas, ¿recuerdan? Jajajaja… Yo recogía los envases de refrescos y les quitaba las bases de abajo, por lo general eran de color negro, y al final esos eran mis materos, allí sembraba las plantas para venderlas. Esos fueron mis comienzos con la pasión de cultivar plantas.

Con el tiempo, después que me casé, pude comprar un terreno suficientemente grande para sembrar y cultivar árboles frutales, hacer jardines y lograr una de mis metas personales, de tener un jardín amplio, bonito y productivo. Allí fue donde vivimos por quince años, pero por problemas de salud y económicos tuvimos que venderlo. Ahora estoy en una casa de una amiga que se encuentra fuera del país, y aunque no tengo idea por cuanto tiempo estaré aquí, decidí retomar la idea de jugar con el poquito espacio que tengo, para cultivarlo y reactivar mi pasión por las plantas. Es que aunque no les canto como lo hacía mi madre, cuando las limpio, me dan una sensación de paz, me desestresa, me hacen sentir como si me necesitan para estar bonitas y contentas. Y como les mencioné al principio, dedicar mi tiempo libre a esto, me ayuda de manera integral pues puedo pensar con tranquilidad, las puedo observar y esto hace que crezca mi cariño hacia las plantas.

1658761703757.jpg

1654299165115.png

1658761703621.jpg

1654299165115.png

MY PRODUCTIVE GARDEN PROJECT

When I arrived at this new house, in the backyard I had already planted a type of grass known here as manicero de jardín, and also some adult ixora plants, so respecting this initiative of the already existing plants, I am going to adjust to the way they are distributed in the yard. I started to weed the area I want to plant, to keep the soil ready. I want to leave a path for them, by the way, so that when I water and the ground is wet, the soil from the shoes won't stick to it, and so it won't get dirty in other areas of the house. In addition, I plan to use all the organic waste, consisting of vegetable and fruit shells, eggshells and others that are used at home, to bury them, and thus develop a natural fertilizer with the same prepared soil. Doing this achieves two benefits, the first is that as I open the holes to place the waste, the soil can be nourished to benefit the plants that I plant there, and secondly the soil is softer, for better development and growth of plants.

This project has me excited, because it is one of the things I like to do, and I think it is associated with the new reality of the country, where vegetables and fruits are becoming more and more expensive. For this reason, without abandoning my love for ornamental plants, I can try to see how I get the combination of other types of plants in the garden. I have some seeds and offspring of some of the plants I want to plant, such as one of banano and topocho. Also, I have seeds of chives, cherry tomatoes and another type of this smaller one known locally as balita tomato, which is very tasty for scrambled eggs and in salads. In addition to milkweed, sesame, paprika, zucchini, beans... as a test to see how it goes. Also as I said before, I want to sow some plants of malojillo, basil, atroverán, oregano, libertadora, mint, garlic, hahaha, it seems as if I had a land of 10 hectares instead of 10 meters, right?

All this as I told you, to test how I am doing with each kind of plants and also how they look in the land together. There will also be some plants that will be planted in pots and I will enable the front yard of the house and place other plants, only there I have to be more careful, because the site is not fenced and is exposed to animals such as dogs, cats, pigeons and in the end I do not know if I can harvest what I want. Besides this, there are always children playing with soccer balls in the street, who often end up stepping on the plants and damaging them. But against all this I want to make an effort to achieve it, since in this urbanism they encourage you to keep a nice and well kept garden, so I will be enabling several sectors of this part, so that I can combine these plants with good taste and so I would call it MY PRODUCTIVE GARDEN.

MI PROYECTO DE JARDIN PRODUCTIVO

Ya cuando llegué a esta nueva casa, en el patio trasero tenía sembrado un tipo de grama que aquí se le conoce como manicero de jardín, y también unas plantas de ixoras ya adultas, por lo que respetando esta iniciativa de las plantas ya existentes, voy a ajustarme a la manera en que están distribuidas en el patio. Comencé a limpiar con escardilla el área que quiero sembrar, para mantener el terreno listo. Les quiero dejar, a propósito, una caminería, de tal manera que cuando riegue y el terreno este húmedo no se pegue la tierra del calzado, y así evitar que se vaya a ensuciar otras áreas de la casa. Además, pienso utilizar todos los desperdicios orgánicos, que consisten en conchas de verduras y frutas, cascaras de huevo y demás que se usen en casa, para enterrarlos, y de esta manera desarrollar un abono natural con la misma tierra preparada. El hacer esto logra dos beneficios, el primero es que a medida que abro los huecos para colocar los desperdicios, se pueda nutrir la tierra para beneficiar las plantas que siembre allí, y segundo la tierra queda más suave, para el mejor desarrollo y crecimiento de las plantas.

Este proyecto me tiene emocionado, porque es una de las cosas que me gusta hacer, y que creo que va asociado con la nueva realidad del país, donde cada vez las hortalizas, vegetales y frutas se ponen más costosos. Por esto, sin abandonar mi amor por las plantas ornamentales, puedo probar a ver cómo me sale la combinación de otro tipo de plantas en el jardín. Tengo algunas semillas e hijos de unas de las plantas que quiero sembrar, como uno de plátano y topocho. También, tengo semillas de cebollín, tomates Cherry y otro tipo de este más pequeño conocido localmente como tomate balita, que es muy gustoso para los revoltillos con huevos y en ensaladas. Además de plantas de lechosa, ajonjolí, pimentón, calabacín, vainitas… como pruebas a ver que tal me va. También como dije antes, quiero sembrar unas plantas de malojillo, albahaca, atroverán, orégano, libertadora, menta, ajo, Jajaja, parece como si tuviese un terreno de 10 hectáreas en vez de 10 metros ¿verdad?.

Todo esto como les dije, ir probando como me va con cada clase de plantas y también como se ven en el terreno juntas. También habrán algunas plantas que estarán sembradas en macetas y voy habilitar el patio del frente de la casa y colocar otras plantas, solo que allí debo tener más cuidado, pues el sitio no está cercado y está expuestos a los animales, como perros, gatos, palomas y al final no se si podré cosechar lo deseado. A parte de esto, siempre hay niños que juegan con balones de futbol en la calle, que muchas veces terminan pisando las siembras y las dañan. Pero contra todo esto quiero esforzarme por lograrlo, ya que en este urbanismo te animan a mantener un jardín bonito y bien cuidado, por lo que voy a ir habilitando varios sectores de esta parte, para que pueda combinar estas plantas con buen gusto y por lo que le denominaría MI JARDIN PRODUCTIVO.

1658761703564.jpg

1654299165115.png

1658761703536.jpg

1654299165115.png

You could already see, with the photos I showed you, how my project, whose photos are my property, started. As it develops I will keep you informed of its development. I was glad to have shared with you about this long term planting, but with daily and future benefits. Happy weekend to all of you.

Ya pudieron ver, con las fotos que les mostré, como empezó mi proyecto, cuyas fotos son de mi propiedad. A medida que se vaya desarrollando les mantendré informado del desarrollo de este. Me dio gusto haber compartido con ustedes sobre esta siembra a largo plazo, pero con beneficios diarios y a futuro. Feliz fin de semana para todos.


4.png

Banner made with canva.com //Banner realizado con canva.com

Separator:** Separadores de texto para Blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center