My Little Discovery

It's interesting that many of us just live for living sake. We don't really know what's going on within and without. I've always been eager about human existence. Questions like how are tears formed, how do we cope with our environment, are born to just suffer and die? How did we come into existence in the first place?

Many questions crowd my mind and yet I've not gotten satisfactory answers to many of them. Satisfaction is the aim afterall.

Yesterday, as I was going about my normal schedule, I stumbled upon two fun facts that I'd love to share with y'all.

First fact is….. drumrolls!!!
Do you know that our tears secrete lysosomes, lactoferrins and anti-microbial chemical substances that fight against all the extremely tiny microorganisms that try getting into our body through our eyes? Who would have thought that the tears we just secrete can do all this great things.


Pexel

Before now, I knew about this on the surface. Everyone knows that our tears cleanse the eyes but I didn't know in what way. I think that was a great discovery.

Second, do you know that an average human breathes in 8 pathogens per second and consequently 1million pathogens a day. Can you beat that! All these occur without our knowledge! But the good thing is that we have am immune system that fights against all these things.


Pexel

Each organ has its own specialized mechanism for fighting against these pathogens and as such we're safe. Come to think of it, I'd we didn't have an immune system, one million pathogens would invade us everyday. For how how long would we have survived.

As such, we should take good care of our body and try our best to maintain our immunity, it would help in the long run. Thank you for your audience.

With love, wongi ✨

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center