TLE Teachers on Vacation : Sumilon Island, Cebu


Sumilon Island Escapade
Part 1 of 4


In my 11 years in Deped, just like the other public school teachers in the Philippines, I hadn’t experienced uninterrupted vacation after the school year until this year. Every public school teacher has clamored to have a decent rest and recharge after a roller coaster ride of dramas and stressful undertakings in the school. And finally, because of Sara Duterte who is the vice president of the Philippines and the former Department of Education Secretary, this has come to realization. Yes! Teachers have enjoyed the one month of uninterrupted academic break this June 2024.

The dream to have an outing of TLE Teachers of Canduman National High School finally became a reality. Our new department coordinator drafted out first-ever getaway in the south of Cebu and our first destination is Sumilon Island. I was very excited for this trip because it would be my first time there.

IMG_6860.jpeg

We departed as early as 4AM so we would be on the island at 10AM. But of course it would be a long ride from Mandaue going to Oslob, Cebu. So, we stopped by at Carcar to have some breakfast. This is not the whole TLE team. This is only a third of it because the other two groups were on the other two cars. I was surprised because many of my co-teachers did not order rice for their meal.

IMG_6892.jpeg

It was already 10:20 AM when we sailed going to the island. We needed to wait for another 20 minutes because of a problem which I choose not to share. This unwanted interruption though gave me an opportunity to capture cool photos.

IMG_6897.jpeg

When we arrived on the island, we directly ate our lunch. I was not able to document that because I was really hungry.

IMG_6914.jpeg

After that, some of us wanted to explore the island, however, we were told that we could not go any further because the other side of the island was a private resort. It is only this side of the island where the public can access.

However, the crew allowed us to take pictures after my co-teacher requested or perhaps persuaded him. So, we took the opportunity given…

IMG_6924.jpeg

IMG_6921.jpeg

I called my wife and told her about this and she said that when she visited Sumilon Island with her friends before, they experienced shark watching which you could enjoy in the other side of the island. I was really expecting that I could experience that. So, I will make sure that when I visit this place again, I will get to experience the fun on the other side.

IMG_6928.jpeg

IMG_6908.jpeg

Anyways, I just enjoyed my time there with my co-teachers. We did a lot of swimming in the white sand beach and played with the big waves.

IMG_6963.jpeg

Before leaving the island, we had a group picture so we can have a good memorabilia of this beautiful place.

IMG_7049.jpeg

Thank you for your time. See you on my next post!

Love,
@christianyocte


Unleash the hero in you. TEACH.
Christian Yocte

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now