Trying Out Korean Street Food at MyeongDong Cebu

Hi there, wholesome reader!

One of our usual kind of bonding with my friends is exploring new restaurants and eating out. For this blog post, let me share to you our experience at MyeongDong Cebu.

20240205_160341_0000.png

Since we haven’t been to South Korea yet, we were excited to try and get to experience a taste of Myeong-dong here in Cebu, for now. Myeong-dong is South Korea’s famous shopping district and street food place where tourists never miss to visit when they are in the said country.

20240202_192852.jpg

I am a fan of Korean food but not to the point that I crave for it on a daily basis. But since this store just opened recently and has been viral on other social media platforms, we decided to give it a try and experience it firsthand.

The Queueing Begins

As mentioned above, I have been seeing this store on several of my social media feeds and people have been flocking, so a long line is to be expected when you dine here. When we arrived, customers were already lining up outside the store.

The line outside the store

The line inside the store

Considering also that we went there during their peak hours, the number of people in the line was what we anticipated. By the way, we visited last Friday at around 7PM.

We waited in line for at least 15 minutes before we were able to get inside the store. And guess what? There was yet another line inside! We thought that once we got in the store, we would be placing our orders already. But we were wrong as we still had to wait for another 20 minutes before we could finally place our orders.

20240202_191836.jpg

But wait, there's more. The struggle doesn't end with the line. After we placed our orders, we waited for at least 10 minutes before we could find a table. At that time, the number of tables weren't able to accommodate the number of customers, since it was during their peak hours.

The Food and The Price
20240202_195042.jpg20240202_195047.jpg

20240202_195117.jpg

20240202_194040.jpg20240202_194523.jpg

MyeongDong Cebu has a variety of tasty and popular Korean street food options to offer. Rice cakes, kimbap, ramen, Korean ice creams, and drinks – they have it all at slightly budget-friendly prices.

We ordered odeng (fish cake) at 40 pesos each; cheese kimbap at 160 pesos; kkoma kimbap at 120 pesos; tteokbokki (rice cake) at 150 pesos; and instant cheese ramen at 140 pesos. For our drinks, a 500-ml bottled water for me at 50 pesos, which I find very expensive; and for my friend, a pack of peach iced tea at 70 pesos plus an ice cup at 20 pesos.

20240202_203020.jpg

received_411191734806257.jpeg

received_6999271670198780.jpeg

20240202_201548.jpg

I can't verify if these food taste like the ones in South Korea since I have not been there, lol. But I love their tteokbokki and kimbap; they go perfectly together.

Comparing this to my favorite Korean restaurant in Cebu, and considering the price and the quality of food, I'd say that nothing has defeated my favorite restaurant yet, which I might talk about in a future post 😉

Overall Experience

I could say that this store is overly hyped on social media platforms. Honestly, I didn’t taste anything special about their food. But I also think that that is what they try to convey - how the common street food in South Korea tastes like.

However, I believe that it isn’t the food that makes this store unique. It’s the overall concept wherein people feel like they are really lining up in Myeong-dong in South Korea. They also retained the “busy market” vibes in the store. Although it was a struggle to find a table at first, we were relieved by the idea that people just come and go. When another group leaves a table, another set of people sit on it. A lot of patience is key to avoid spoiling the mood.

20240202_193405.jpg

If you wish to try the food they could offer, the store is located at Door 6 TP Commercial Bldg., A.S. Fortuna St., Banilad, Cebu City. They are open 24 hours! And if you wish to skip the long queues, choose a time slot that isn’t too busy and not within the peak hours (i.e., afternoon on a weekday, midnight). You can also check their Facebook page here for more information.


Thank you for reading my post up to this point. I hope you have a great time ahead!

I'll take delight in writing for you again soon.

Love,
Sam ♡


All photos in this post are owned by me, unless stated otherwise.


20240205_151606.jpg

Hello, in case you have not read my intro post, my name is Samantha. You may call me Sam for short. I am from Cebu, a beautiful island in the Philippines. I created this space in an attempt to put all the good things in one place, thus, my blog name @wholesamdiaries.

If you wish to show appreciation; an upvote, comment, reblog and/or follow is the way! Thank you once again and see you around! ♡


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center