Chocolate Cake from leftover Chocolate butter | No Waste

chocolate butter cake.png

Introduction

I don't know about you, but I don't like to throw leftovers away. No matter if it's just a bowl of cut vegetables or prepped food, I always try to think of a way to process them without throwing anything away. Sometimes I fail, but often I don't.

The chocolate butter story

Recently, it was my daughter's birthday and I promised to bake a cake with her instead of for her. Lock-downs were ongoing so no option to go anywhere really as the weather was failing us as well that day. To bring in a nice activity, I opened a one day bakery and hired a special assistant (my daughter). I made a chef's hat for her and gave her a certificate at the end of the day to promote her for her hard work.

Not all went smooth that day to be honest, I made a HUGE error when I tried making chocolate butter cream the first time by following a random recipe which already sounded like a bad idea, but for some reason I went ahead with the steps anyway and ending up with a huge amount of failed chocolate butter cream. I had to throw it all away, but thankfully, I had extra unsalted butter so I could try again.

chocolate butter.png

The butter was super soft once it was done and I decided to chill it in the fridge for a short time. But then I got caught up in other stuff around the cake, and totally forgot to remove the butter from the fridge in time. When I realized this, it already turned cold and damaged the cake when trying to add the layer. So I only used a tiny bit on the cake and put the rest back in the fridge for another purpose.

Throwing away 2 full packages of expensive butter was not going to happen, so I decided to improvise and use the chocolate butter to bake a cake. Cakes are always appreciated, so what could go wrong?

The ingredients

These are the ingredients I used:

  • 200 grams of sugar
  • 200 grams of self raising baking flour
  • 200 grams of chocolate butter
  • 4 eggs

You will also need:

  • A baking tin
  • Baking paper
  • Mixer
  • Bowl

Step by step process




The end result


choco cake.png

They tasted delicious! Experiment succeeded if you ask me.

Thank you for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center