Food Photo Collection by @tegoshei (JUNE EDITION)



I almost forgot about this series until I checked the photo gallery on my phone to clean it up. I realized that the month has ended and that I did take some food photos last month to share in this food photo collection post.


Let's now begin the collection of food photos for the month of June. I hope you enjoy and be hungry. Just kidding!

image.png

image.png

image.png

Above are pictures of Chicken and chicken liver adobo. This is a kind of chicken stew from the Philippines, but instead of just the regular chicken, we added some chicken liver, potatoes, carrots, green peas and other stuff. We wanted our chicken stew to be more colorful, so we added some veggies. Also, my parents like eating chicken liver. I don't really eat it, but adding it to the dish would make the soup more flavorful, so I wasn't against it at all. Normally, chicken adobo is just chicken, soy sauce, sugar and some spices. :)


image.png

Do you have any idea what they are? These are called "budbod" in the Visayan language and "suman" in Tagalog. It's actually sticky rice wrapped in banana leaves and is one of the "kakanin" here in the Philippines.

The term "kakanin" comes from the Filipino words "kain" meaning "to eat" while "kanin" is the Filipino term for "rice". Basically, "kakanin" are sweets which are made from glutinous rice and coconut milk. There are a lot of these sweets in the Philippines, and the one above is just one of them.


image.png

image.png

image.png

Above is mama's pan-roasted whole chicken. Roasted chicken or "lechon manok" as we call it is very common in my country. It's especially prepared when there are some celebrations or just get-together with family or friends. There are a lot of stores which sell it, however, I prefer mama's style better.

We decided to have this dish last June 12. Aside from the fact that it was Independence day in the Philippines, it was also my grandma's birthday. Unfortunately, my grandma left us a few years ago. My grandma really liked this recipe, so she used to ask mama to cook it on her birthday. <3


image.png

image.png

This one is "Paksiw na Bangus with Okra and Eggplant". Paksiw is a a kind of dish which is simmered and cooked in vinegar. You can use any meat or fish, but "bangus" or milkfish is among the common ingredients for this particular recipe. I am sure this dish is very delicious as I used to eat this in the past. Sadly, after my surgery years ago, my body couldn't take in fish. Milkfish used to be my favorite fish back then, but now, I can just feast my eyes on it as my parents enjoy eating it. T_T


image.png

image.png

What you see above is called "embutido". It's a Filipino-style pork meatloaf. It is actually delicious and it looks so colorful. The ingredients often include ground meat, cheese, sausage, raisins, carrots, bell pepper, and eggs among others. It wasn't my mom who made this, but my aunt. My aunt and her family started a business of making and selling "embutido", so we bought some from her. It's actually really good and I like how her "embutido" tasted. Now, we ordered more from her and also re-sell it in our store. Freezing the "embutido" will allow it to last for a couple weeks or more. :)

That's it for the month of June. We were able to prepare more food, but I already posted them like the ones during Father's Day as well as our mini-celebration in our "purok". I'll start collecting pictures for the month of July soon, so please look forward to them.

See you next time for more food photo collection!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now