A Perfect Vegetarian Breakfast

Honestly, you don't need meat for an amazing breakfast. It's the meal I enjoy cooking the most, particularly after a surf when I feel I've earned it! Sometimes - before I slap myself with the reminder hospitality is NOT an industry I want to work in again - I think I'd love to have a breakfast cafe and have things on the menu like:

Zucchini & parmesan fritters w/ olive tapenade and fresh cherry tomatoes
Oven baked field mushrooms with goats cheese & thyme
Tumeric & chai spiced porridge with house made coconut yoghurt and mangos, with a dried mango granola sprinkle
Korean braised tofu with pickled red cabbage & wilted spinach
Breakfast bean burritos with smashed avocado
Caramelised onion, horseradish cream & gouda toastie with rocket

You know, that kind of thing.

But when it's tomaoto season here, there's not much better a meal than fried tomato with thyme on sourdough or fresh made bread. They are a meal on their own, cooked with fresh thyme, salt and pepper - I love the way the tomato juice and olive oil become almost caramelised and soak into the bread.

image.png

Halloumi is the added bonus - we use half a block for two, but Jamie gets two thirds of that. He loves salt, and if I served him bacon he'd be happy - but he's just as happy with the salty bite of halloumi next to the sweet freshness of cherry and small black russian tomatoes.

image.png

All you need to do is half or quarter the tomatoes and fry in olive oil - that's it. I love to add fresh thyme, but basil right at the end is nice too, or oregano. I also add a sprinkle of thyme as I serve it, because I love the added dimension. The halloumi is fried just at the very end as it doesn't take long. I do it all in one pan.

image.png

Of course, you don't need extra salt, because the halloumi is salty enough! But that's up to you. Lashings of fresh pepper, always!

Bon Appetit! Or, 'get that into ya love', as I say here, slapping the plate on the table.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments