I Tried My Friends Special Ginabot or Pig Viscera Street Food Cart

Hello and Good Day Foodies! I wanna share my simple food experience when I bought a Special Chicharon Bulaklak or Ginabot in my local dialect or also known as a Pig Viscera in English. Basically a part of a pig's intestine is cooked to make this wonderful dish.

During lunch time earlier I was so hungry and was looking at my Facebook news feed when I saw one of my friends posted their new street food cart business. So I thought to myself I want to give it a try and see how it tastes.

3

I went to their street food cart which was located adjacent to our Barangay Hall and saw that their food cart was empty. So I asked my friend there the one wearing the grey jacket and long pants how much does each cost. Each one costs 25 pesos or $0.5 and apparently they have run out of cooked Ginabot at the moment but they are gonna cook some more. So I waited there patiently while taking photos and drooling over it 🤣 just kidding 😂

They are still preparing the dish right now by coating the pig viscera with pre-seasoned flour.

As you can see, even though they are selling food just beside the street, they still didn't forget proper hygiene when preparing food and used some sort of a plastic glove which for me is a really good sign, which means that the food they are selling is clean.

img20220209125501.jpg

img20220209125531.jpg

img20220209125601.jpg

After coating all of the pig viscera with the pre-seasoned flour it is time to pour it into the big pan of boiling oil 😍. Looking at the oil boiling and the frying bubbles really looks amazing. I'm not new to this kind of stuff but I just find it fascinating, amusing and fun to watch 😎

img20220209130011.jpg

img20220209130053.jpg

5

The food was sitting in the hot oil and being fried for almost 5 minutes I guess, I didn't keep track of the time so I'm not quite sure but it was long since I was just staring directly at it while holding my phone watching for an opportunity to take a picture of it. After that sitting time the cook stirred it well for another 5 minutes or so after moving on the next procedure.

img20220209130425.jpg

img20220209130628.jpg

What the cook did next was he used a scissor to slice the middle part of each pig viscera. I'm guessing he did this so that the middle part will be well cooked as well. Since if you don't do that then the result would be only the outer part of it will be crispy leaving the middle part a little bit hard to chew. Doing this will ensure the middle part will be as crispy as the outer layer of it.

img20220209131429.jpg

img20220209131430.jpg

6

After that the cook have stirred it yet again for another 10 minutes and ensuring the crispiness is there without burning it.

7

img20220209131650.jpg

8

img20220209131751.jpg

And now it's cooked at last 🤤. He just put it in a strainer making sure to let the excess oil fall of before putting it inside their display glass container.

9

Now that looks delicious 🤩. I ordered 4 pcs for me and my son. This will be our lunch and dinner for later 😅

img20220209134104.jpg

img20220209134109.jpg

The taste didn't disappoint me, it was just the right crispiness and saltiness. The sauce that came with it is also good, it has the right blend of sweetness and sourness which compliments with the crispiness of the Ginabot.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now