Is 500 Bath ( 17 US Dollars) Fish Porridge worth it?

Money can't buy happiness, BUT! FOR SURE 'Money does buy food', which for me, they're practically the same thing just in a different form. That's why sometimes, after a long day I would reward myself with a nice fancy(-ier than usual) meal. Like this time, I wanted a soupy porridge meal that's also a little healthy. (So I can convinced myself I'm spending for the right thing.) And I landed at this place. "Gim Po, Fish Porridge"

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230902_1.jpg
Ps. I draw the logo of the place on my ipad. Hope it still looks like the real one lol.

This place is located in an area called SamYan or Bun Tad Thong, in Bangkok,Thailand. There are A LOT of food places there. Y'all foodies need to check it out! Both meals and sweets. Here's the place, "Gim Po" The Fish Porridge.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_41.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_6.jpg

Yep! FISH, FISH and more FISH! 🐟🐟🐟 These two fish are "Gray Pomfret/butterfish".

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_3.jpg
This big one is "Grouper Fish", see how big it is compared to the cook.
LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_1.jpg

There are signs saying "Today, we have SUPER FRESH Red-banded grouper (fish)" and "Today, we have SUPER FRESH Gray Pomfret(fish)". Emphasis on SUPER FRESH!

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_5.jpg

Looks like we're in a good day, guys. Let's do thisssssss!!

This place has Michelin Guide for 7 years in a row and has been opened for more than 70 years! According to their fame and success, they've been opening 3 more franchises all over Bangkok.
LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_7.jpg

First off, we ordered porridge and got free refill tea.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_11.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_9.jpg

You have to look closely to see the rice under the soup. haha. Very nice bowl, by the way.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_10.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_12.jpg

Next we ordered (cooked) "Fish skin, Fish Maw and Roe". I really like this one because I love offal and eating these with the sauces are just so good.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_31.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_13.jpg

I have to compliment the sauce! The sauce is the key to deliciousness of this place (in my opinion) The brown one is called "Soy Bean Paste/Sauce" and the orange one is "Spicy Soy Bean Paste/Sauce". So good!

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_16.jpg

This dish is "Grouper Head Soup". I think it's ok but honestly kinda overrated for me, since I expected more. Also, I had this dish somewhere else, that tasted better.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_19.jpg

I love shrimp, so I also ordered (cooked) shrimp soup.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_23.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_22.jpg

The last one is the highlight of this place, (cooked) "butter fish" and this one cost almost 500 Bath! Because this is a rare kind of fish and need some specific way to cook. This is how it looks like.
LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_37.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_33.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_36.jpg

This is how I ate it. I mixed the soup with the porridge and eat everything with the rice. Every bite, I would dip in a sauce, which both are good, but I prefered the spicy one. It gives me more of the taste. Just the fish alone is too bland.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_30.jpg

This is all the food on our table. I was the only one getting porridge, whereas the others got rice. We both had 2 dip sauces and iced tea. The restaurant also provided the empty dish so you can throw away the fishbones or other stuff.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_28.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_24.jpg

Overall, the place is nice and clean. The menus are also provided in English, so the tourist can also order it. We liked the food. We saw how good they did with the fish, but we agreed that it's too pricey for fish porridge. Are we coming back again? Well, we might but just once in a blue moon. So.. See you again Gim Po! Not so soon though 😅

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_44.jpg

This is SamYan area. I think it was a nice photo during walking back home.

LINE_ALBUM_gimbo_230901_46.jpg

Like I said, there's so many food places here. Let me walk and show you around one day. As for today, I hope you enjoy my post and if you like it, you can leave me a comment and/or follow me for more content of (mostly) food and travel from me.

Stay hungry and let the food take you everywhere, everybody!

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center