Do you prefer "Khao Soi Khai" or "Khao Soi Nuea"?

Have you ever heard of our traditional dish called "Khao Soi" before? If yes, have you ever tried it? And if not, would you like to know more about it? I bet if you've ever come to Chiang Mai, you've probably heard of it. I'd say if not, you might as well have never set foot here in my hometown.

S__4800530.jpg

I felt like lately #nomnomfoodie hasn't talked much about Thai food, so, today I want to write about that and tell you about this place I always go to. Whenever I had more than 30 minutes wait time before boarding, I'll come over to this "Khao Soi House" place and get me some tasty Khao Soi.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_28.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_29.jpg

This is how the place looks like. It's located by the entrance nr.1. There's tables and some people there with their suitcases.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_34.jpg

They have a refrigerator for drinks like soft drinks and beer. Some people really need those before their flight.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_26.jpg

On the left area of the restaurant is the kitchen area, where you can look over and see them prepare your food.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_21.jpg

Inside, this is how the tables look like and somehow they always put their menus up on the table like this.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_25.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_23.jpg

Now, let's look at the menu and see what I've picked.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_16.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_17.jpg


KHAO SOI KHAI

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_1.jpg

Khao Soi, pronounced as Cow-Soy, is a northern Thai noodle soup that uses egg noodles and is served in a coconut milk curry broth. This dish has been very popular amongst us Thais and tourists.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_6.jpg

"Khai" ,pronouced as "Gai", in Thai means Chicken. In Khao Soi is very common to put chicken in there. Me personally love having the whole chicken thigh in my Khao Soi that I have to use my hand to eat it. 😂

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_10.jpg


KHAO SOI NUEA

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_46.jpg

The other dish I often order "Khao Soi Nuea", which is just the same dish except we using beef instead of chicken. I didn't order this as often as "Khao Soi Khai", since most of the time, the beef will be too hard to chew, or it stuck between my teeth. That can be kinda annoying.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_43.jpg

That day, somehow the dish was much spicier that it usually is. As you can see the soup is currier and oranger than the last dish. Still, I enjoyed Khao Soi and I just had to eat more of the "side dish" and drink more to dissolve the spiciness.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_11.jpg

The side dish, which I love adding into Khao Soi are Lime wedges, Chopped shallots (or red onion) and chopped sour pickled mustard greens (similar to german sauerkraut). My favorite is the shallots. I just love onions so much ❤️

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_14.jpg

Another good thing about Khao Soi House is I get to have free drink from my phone company. It's a herbal drink called "Chrysanthemum tea". Not my go-to drink, but I'll take it when it's free.

LINE_ALBUM_khaosoi house_231030_13.jpg

And that's it for my #nomnomfoodie post today, guys. I will try to write more about Thai food to showcase for you Hivean more. Or, if there's any food you want me to write about, please feel free to let me know and it'd be much appreciated as new ideas for my post too.

Lastly, stay hungry and enjoy the culture, everybody!

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center