Delicious Hallacas | Venezuelan Recipe [ENG/ESP]

Hello friends of Hive, I hope you are very well, a pleasure to greet you, I want to share with you my first experience in this community of Foodies about a very exquisite and traditional dish that is made in my country, this is called "Hallaca" in other countries they call it "Tamale" but for us it is a small tradition full of love and coexistence with our families, normally "La Hallaca" is always made with family and friends joking and all collaborating in something, listening to music that here in Venezuela are called Gaitas, they are very good music and people while making this dish dance and have a great time.

Hola amigos de Hive, espero que se encuentren muy bien un gusto en saludarlos quiero compartirles mi primera experiencia en esta comunidad de Foodies acerca de un platillo muy exquisito y tradicional que se hace en mi país, este lleva por nombre" Hallaca” en otros países lo llaman “Tamal” pero para nosotros es una pequeña tradición llena de mucho amor y convivencia con nuestros familiares, normalmente”La Hallaca" siempre se hace en Familia y amistades bromeando y todos colaborando en algo, escuchando música que acá en Venezuela se llaman Gaitas, son músicas muy buenas y las personas mientras hacen este platillo bailan y la pasan muy bien.

WhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 11.04.46 PM.jpeg

Normally, I always made Las Hallacas with my mother, since we made them in large quantities and for me it is the most beautiful thing because my siblings, friends and my mother was present, who obviously is the one who always puts the best seasoning to the stew and it is totally sensational, it is a delicacy of food and you always want to eat not one or 2 but even 3 because of how delicious they are. This time I had to make them by myself, because I was far away from my mother and sincerely with a lot of nostalgia to be honest, tears came to my eyes when I saw that she was not by my side to make such a usual dish, but well I got courage and my husband gave me a lot of encouragement, since I was accompanied by him, he uncorked a little wine, served it in my glass and accompanied by some Buenas Gaitas which are the music that is usually heard in December here in Venezuela, I was preparing everything, I will not deny that I had some fear because I did not know how the stew could be, because it did not have the same seasoning and gave me some nerves that the person who will try it will not like it and yet I risked to make them with all the faith in the world and placing much dedication and attention to what I was doing, I confess that on several occasions I called my mother to give me some tips for the stew and it was really very, very rich, and I checked with my husband who ate 5 hallacas at that time he, he, he, he, he.

Well dear friends, here I am going to leave the ingredients I used for my Hallacas that were very good and the step by step I did to finish them which gave a total of 50 hallacas.

Normalmente, siempre yo hacía Las Hallacas con mi madre, ya que hacíamos en grandes cantidades y para mí es lo más bonito porque nos reuníamos mis hermanos, amistades y estaba presente ella, que obviamente es la que siempre le coloca la mejor sazón al guiso y queda totalmente sensacional, es una delicia de comida y que siempre quieres comerte no una ni 2 sino hasta 3 de lo rico que quedan. Está vez me tocó hacerlas yo sola, pues estuve lejos de mi madre y sinceramente con mucha nostalgia para serles sinceros las lágrimas se me salían al ver que ella no estaba a mi lado para hacer tan acostumbrado platillo, pero bueno me arme de valor y mi esposo me dió muchos ánimos, ya que estuve acompañada de él, me destapó un vinito, lo sirvió en mi copa y acompañado de unas Buenas Gaitas que son las músicas que normalmente se escuchan en Diciembre aca en Venezuela fui preparando todo, no les negaré que tuve algo de miedo porque no sabía cómo podía quedarme el guiso, porque no tenía su misma sazón y me dió algo de nervios que la persona que la probará no le gustará y aún así me arriesgué a hacerlas con toda la fe del mundo y colocando mucha dedicación y atención a lo que estaba haciendo, les confieso que en varias ocasiones llame a mi madre para que me fuera dando unos Tips para el guiso y de verdad que quedó muy pero muy rico, y lo comprobé con mi esposo que se comió 5 hallacas en ese momento je, je, je

Bueno queridos amigos, acá les voy a dejar los ingredientes que use para mis Hallacas que quedaron muy buenas y el paso a paso que hice para finalizarlas el cual dieron un total de 50 hallacas.


Ingredients:

1 package of bread flour
1 k. of onion
1 k. Chives
1k. Of sweet chili
100G. Garlic
100G. Of olives
100G. Of raisins
1Lt. of consommé stock
1 small cup of onoto oil
2 tablespoons of large salt
1 small spoonful of pepper.
2Kg. Of Meat
3kg. Of pork
2kg. Of leaves
1 roll of thread

Ingredientes:

1 Paquete de Harina Pan
1k.de cebolla
1 k. De cebollín
1k. De ají dulce
100G. De ajo
100G. De aceitunas
100G. De pasas
1Lt. De caldo de consomé
1 taza pequeña de aceite de onoto
2 cucharadas de Sal grande
1 cucharada pequeña de pimienta.
2Kg. De Carne
3kg. De cochino
2kg. De hojas
1 Rollo de hilo


WhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.53 PM (7).jpegWhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.53 PM (5).jpeg

Now we continue with the procedure to make the hallacas:
The first thing we did was to cook the pork and the meat, then we proceeded to chop into very small pieces the onion, the aji Dulce, the onion and the garlic and once the pork and the meat were cooked they were also chopped into very small pieces.

Ahora continuamos con el procedimiento para realizar las hallacas:
Lo primero que se hizo fue poner a cocinar el cochino y la carne, después procedimos picar en trozos muy pequeños la cebolla, el ají Dulce, el cebollin y el ajo y ya una vez cocinado el cochino y la carne también se picaron en trozos muy pequeños.

WhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.53 PM.jpeg

Once everything has been chopped, each ingredient is added to the container where the stew will be cooked, first the garlic was added, which is sautéed together with the pepper, then the onion, onion and chili were added and we waited about 20 minutes for it to cook, we added the pork, the meat, the consomme, salt to taste and a pinch of sugar to give it a touch of sweetness and then it is placed over low heat and it is slowly stirred to mix everything and everything is compacted.

Una vez ya picado todo se va incorporando cada ingrediente al recipiente donde se va a cocinar el guiso, primero se incorporó el ajo el cual va sofrito junto con la pimienta, luego se le fue agregando el cebollin, la cebolla y el ají y esperamos como 20 minutos para su cocción, le agregamos el cochino, la carne, el consome, sal al gusto y una pizca de azucar para darle un toque de dulce y luego se coloca a fuego lento y se va moviendo lentamente para ir mezclando todo y que todo se vaya compactando.

WhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.52 PM (5).jpegWhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.52 PM (4).jpeg

Then we proceed to clean the leaves, which are the ones that will be used to wrap the hallaca, it is of utmost importance to clean them well and that they are not dirty and thus to avoid any bacteria and mainly to have a good hygiene.

Luego procedemos a la limpieza de las hojas, que son las que se usaran para envolver la hallaca, es de suma importancia limpiarlas bien y que no queden sucias y así poder evitar cualquier bacteria y principalmente tener una buena higiene

WhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.52 PM (3).jpeg

Once the aforementioned is done, knead the Bread flour until it has a smooth texture. Once the dough is ready, place a little bit of oil on the dough sheet and then lay the dough on top of it and gently expand it until it is round and place approximately 1 spoonful of the stew on it and then fold it until it is completely closed.

Una vez ya hecho lo antes mencionado, se va amasando la harina Pan hasta tener una textura suave, ya teniendo la masa lista se procede a colocar un poquito de aceite sobre la hoja y luego se tiende la masa encima de ella y suavemente se va expandiendo hasta hacerla redondita y allí le colocamos aproximadamente 1 cucharada del guiso y luego vamos doblando hasta cerrarla completamente.

WhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.52 PM (2).jpeg

Threads of approximately 1 meter were used. These were used to tie the hallaca and finally it is placed in a container with 2 glasses of water and boiled for approximately 15 minutes.

Se usaron hilos de aproximadamente 1 metro. Los cuales fueron utilizados para amarrar la hallaca y finalmente queda de esta forma, se coloca en un recipiente de con 2 vasos de agua y se coloca a hervir por aproximadamente 15 minutos.

WhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.52 PM.jpeg

And finally La Famosa Hallaca is like this, I am really excited to share with you this way of making Mis Hallacas, since everyone does it in a different way and I invite you to be encouraged to prepare them, they are very good and can be served at any time of the meal either at breakfast, lunch and dinner and it is something simple. I always like to share with you every experience I have dear friends and I will be attentive to answer your comments, a big hug for everyone.

Y ya finalmente La Famosa Hallaca queda de esta manera, de verdad que me emociona compartirles esta manera de hacer Mis Hallacas, ya que cada quien lo hace de una manera y los invitó a que se animen a prepararlas, quedan muy buenas y se puede servir en cualquier horario de la comida bien sea en el Desayuno, almuerzo y cena y es algo sencillo. Me gusta siempre poder compartirles cada experiencia que tengo queridos amigos y estaré atenta a responder sus comentarios un abrazo grande para todos.

WhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.06 PM.jpegWhatsApp Image 2023-01-11 at 7.43.06 PM (1).jpeg

Credits:

The pictures were taken by me, and the phone I used was a Redmi note 8.
The banner was edited by Picsart

Créditos:

Las fotografías fueron tomadas por mí, y el teléfono que utilice fue un Redmi note 8
El baner fue editado por Picsart

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center