Does Australia have a Traditional dish?

img_0.2549546215081192.jpg

Yeahhhh! Love it how @ocd is smashing out the community incubation initiative and again one of my favourite communities is showcased. This is probably one of my longest running memberships. Few points on that and it's that I love food, I love learning new recipes from @foodiesbeehive and I love looking at food!

Traditional dish, now that is a hard one here in Australia, I am half indigenous and half Italian and you're probably not going to like alot of traditional indigenous foods such as the grubs, yams, edible berries and bush tomatoes or water Malon. They're all quite well, bitter, sour but the damper is nice. Has a woody chocolate flavour if you use acacia seeds.

img_0.2615497092282096.jpg

Australia doesn't particularly have a dish, although we did have a vote on what was the Australian favourite meat and it was lamb. I'm not sure how accurate that vote and assessment was as lamb isn't a really big meal item on menus across the nation. I have to agree I can't go past a nice leg of lamb roast and I love the sweet flavour a leg of lamb provides, it's beautiful.

But being a multicultural nation, in my community alone over 150 different nationalities reside it adds a flare to Australian cuisine. There is a new movement called Infusion where multiple foods from multiple cultures are merged together to create something new. Some work, some not so much.

img_0.8210344581729981.jpg

But there is one cultural food that dominates in Australia, you can't go to any popular or even community where you won't find Italian food. It's become a staple in our nation we even Nick named spaghetti Bolognase Spag Bowl does anyone else do that?

I have a really nice handed down recipe for Lasagne, a recipe that my nonna made, that her nonna made, that people back in Italy probably still make. I love Lasagne it's definitely a family favourite and this one when making from scratch takes TWO DAYS! to make. Yup when I'm really in the mood for it I'll rip out my pasta making machine and make the Lasagne sheets, buy fresh Roma tomatoes let them ripen and make the sauce. The meat I go to a special butcher that has just the right amount of fat mixed in. I'm not a fan of all this Heart Smart mince they do here in Australia now. It's just less fat more meat and they charge you an extra arm and leg.

img_0.5463514350750346.jpg

How good is my Lasagne? It's that good that every time there is a party or a social gathering you can guarantee that I'm getting invited, the next request is to make my famous Lasagne. It gets smashed within a few minutes so you need to get in quick when I rip it out.

None of this empty Lasagne sheets all of it 100% filled with meat, cheese and egg.

img_0.49081785371185604.jpg

Eveytime I make it at home I always make two trays and one tray is soley made to be cut up and frozen for lunches throughout the week at work.

I do have two renditions of the Lasagne, one is made with mozzarella cheese ontop the other I make a wonderful bechamel sauce or white sauce. It often depends on what mood I am in if I can't be bothered it will just be cheese. But when I really do work for it I'll be coating it in a lovely milky cheesy white sauce!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and I'm looking forward to reading and seeing some of the awesome foods everyone makes around the globe.

Is Lasagne one of your favourites also?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency