My son's first sushi / El primer sushi de mi hijo

This seemed like déjà vu and it really was. My youngest son was so excited about trying sushi, that even I caught the bug and we went for it.

Hello to this entire @foodiesbeehive community, who always delight us who stop by with their repertoire of flavors and recipes.

And to explain the dejavu thing, it's because when my oldest son was a year younger than his little brother (who was not yet born), one day he told me he wanted to try sushi, so we went to eat it.

Seeing the same little face of excitement at the same stimulus was really fantastic. So when Fabrizzio told me he wanted to try it, I immediately set out to find a place nearby to go eat it.

I love sushi, so having those tastes in common with my children seems important to me, but above all, emotionally they lead me to connect with them, because I feel that I leave part of my legacy anchored for when I am no longer here.


The day was very nice, not too hot and not too cold, a regular autumn day, one of those you wish you could have all year round. Using google I found a place that would allow us to eat it there, as most of the ones close to home are to order through delivery apps.

The anxiety was noticeable when we saw the menu, which although it was digital, we ordered it in physical so they could see the variety without having to pass us the phone, since I didn't want to be the one to arbitrarily choose the food, although in the end they both told me: you decide, we trust your judgment.

We ordered two types: one with salmon and the other with prawns, neither tempura, and perhaps I should have asked for it, so that they could enjoy both types. When the "sticks" arrived, Fabrizzio did not stop playing with them, especially when they placed the aids for beginners. His little eyes opened wide when the roles arrived at the table.

It was time to give them the formal introduction of how to eat, and the caveat that what goes into the mouth is swallowed, not returned, although they are not the type to do it, but since it was Fabrizzio's first time, I considered it necessary to make it clear.

And he had better! His excitement dissipated at the first bite, just as it happened with his brother, many years ago, only in this case, my reaction was calmer. I let him just drink his soda, while my other son, already a more life-conscious teenager (at least in this) we ate the roles.


In his case, it was the second time he had tried them, and he really enjoyed everything. He preferred the prawn ones, although he didn't dismiss the salmon ones (which are my favorite!).

And although it didn't turn out as I expected, it was a nice outing, they tried something new, they drew their conclusions regarding what they like or don't like, and most importantly, they are open to new experiences, which is for me fundamental for their growth as people, not only in the gastronomic aspect, but for their life in general.


Esto parecía ser un dejavú y realmente así fue. Mi hijo menor estaba tan emocionado con la idea de probar el sushi, que hasta yo me contagié y nos fuimos a ello.

Hola a toda esta comunidad de @foodiesbeehive, que siempre nos deleita con su repertorio de sabores y recetas a quienes pasamos por aquí.

Y para explicar el tema del dejavú, es porque cuando mi hijo mayor estaba un año más pequeño que su hermanito (quien aún no nacía), un día me dijo que quería probar el sushi, así que nos fuimos a comerlo.

Ver la misma carita de emoción ante el mismo estímulo fue realmente fantástico. Por eso cuando Fabrizzio me dijo que lo quería probar, de inmediato me activé a buscar un lugar cercano para ir a comerlo.

A mi me encanta el sushi, por eso el tener esos gustos en común con mis hijos, me parece importante pero sobre todo, emocionalmente me llevan a conectarme con ellos, pues siento que dejo parte de mi legado anclado para cuando ya yo no esté.

El día estaba muy lindo, sin mucho calor ni mucho frío, un día de otoño regular, de esos que desearías tener todo el año. Usando google encontré un lugar que nos permitiría comerlo ahí, pues la mayoría de los que están cerca de casa son para encargar por aplicaciones de delivery.

La ansiedad se le notaba al ver el menú, que aunque estaba digital, lo pedimos en físico para que ellos pudieran ver la variedad sin tener que pasarnos el teléfono, ya que no quería ser quien escogiera arbitrariamente la comida, aunque al final ambos me dijeron: decide tu, confiamos en tu criterio.

Pedimos dos tipos: uno con salmón y otro con langostinos, ninguno tempurizado, y quizás debí pedirlo, para que disfrutaran las dos modalidades.

Al llegar los "palitos", Fabrizzio no paraba de jugar con ellos, sobre todo cuando le colocaron las ayudas para principiantes. Sus ojitos se abrieron a más no poder cuando llegaron los roles a la mesa.

Tocó hacerles la introducción formal de cómo se comen, y la salvedad de que lo que entra a la boca, pues se traga, no se devuelve, aunque ellos no son de hacerlo, pero al ser la primera vez de Fabrizzio, consideré necesaria la aclaratoria.

Y más vale! su emoción se disipó al primer bocado, justo como pasó con su hermano, muchos años atrás, solo que en este caso, mi reacción fue más tranquila. Dejé que solo tomara su gaseosa, mientras mi otro hijo, ya un adolescente más consciente de la vida (por lo menos en esto) comimos los roles.


En su caso, era la segunda vez que los probaba, y realmente disfrutó todo. Prefirió los de langostinos, aunque no desestimó los de salmón (que son mis favoritos!)

Y aunque no resultó como lo esperaba, fue una linda salida, probaron algo nuevo, sacaron sus conclusiones con respecto a lo que les gusta o no, y lo más importante, están abiertos a las nuevas experiencias, que es para mi fundamental para su crecimiento como personas, no solo en el aspecto gastronómico, sino para su vida en general.


Fotografías/Pictures @mamaemigrante.Taken with my motorola E
Edited by: @mamaemigrante
Portada hecha / Cover made: Canva
Traducido por/translate with: DeepL

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now