Fragrant Thai Lemon Grass Chicken Curry - Hive Top Chef!

I've never cooked with Lemon Grass, so when I first saw the theme for this week - Qurator's: Hive Top Chef! | Lemon Grass I was unsure whether I'd be entering. However, I'm always up to a challenge and I had the time to play in my favourite playground, the kitchen.
I'm so glad I did try, as I will be looking at other ways to use Lemon Grass from now on. Thai Lemon Grass Chicken Curry was super fragrant, and light and did not aggravate my IBS. I hope you enjoy it!
20240915_193045.jpg

Lemon Grass

I was curious, and have only used the essential oil, so I went in search of more info, and for sure will be planting it in my garden.
This grass has good health benefits, and I quote from one of the most trusted health sites, WebMD:

Lemongrass is a rich source of flavonoids and phenolic compounds, which contain antioxidants. It's also an effective antibacterial and antifungal agent that contains anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties. Lemongrass contains quercetin, a flavonoid known for having antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits.
Source

lemon grass.jpg

Photo by Chandan Chaurasia on Unsplash

Chef line break.png

Enough facts, (っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ Let's get cooking! ♥

I had all the ingredients, except Lemon Grass, but discovered it was easily obtainable.

Ingredients

20240915_181910~2.jpg

20240915_182919~2.jpg
Lemon Grass - finely chopped

A friend was excited to give me dhania, spring onions as well as Cayenne Peppers and a sweet Pepper from her new veggie garden. I needed help with a RECIPE and found one that I adapted slightly.

The ingredients and method were different from the Durban curry I'm used to making but way kinder to my digestive system!
One makes the fragrant Thai curry sauce in a jiffy and can add veggies, tofu, fish, or chicken and poach it till the ingredients are cooked. This was much simpler than I ever imagined, and the resulting curry was excellent!

𝙍𝙚𝙘𝙞𝙥𝙚

  • 3 Lemongrass stalks - stripped of hard outer leaves, and chopped
  • 1 small bunch Spring Onions
  • 2 cloves Garlic - crushed
  • 1 piece Ginger - grated
  • 3-4 Cayenne Peppers, chopped (I removed the seeds to cut back on the heat)
  • 1 sweet yellow Pepper
  • 45ml Coconut Oil
  • 1 can Coconut Cream (recipe called for Coconut Milk, but I only had the cream)
  • Broccoli - as much as you like (my addition to chicken curry)
  • 3 Chicken breast fillets - sliced (recipe used Monkfish)
  • 30ml Soya Stir Fry Sauce - kung pao flavour (recipe called for fish or soy sauce)
  • Lemon - juice and rind (recipe called for Lime, but again, I only had Lemon)
  • Salt to taste
  • Bunch of fresh Dhania (Coriander)

20240915_184232~2.jpg

20240915_184416~2.jpg

Heat oil and stir-fry all six curry flavour ingredients

Thai curry ingredients.jpg

Add coconut cream, Broccoli and Chicken, cover, and poach on low heat till cooked

Thai curry Recipe step 2.jpg

Add soya sauce, lemon juice, and salt to taste
Lastly top with fresh Dhania

20240915_192342.jpg

Serve with Basmati Rice

20240915_193016.jpg

This fragrant Thai Lemon Grass Curry for sure calls for a remake - a vegan version, or a fish curry!

𝘽𝙤𝙣 𝘼𝙥𝙥𝙚𝙩𝙞𝙩 𝙛𝙧𝙞𝙚𝙣𝙙𝙨!

20240915_193101.jpg


Black & White Minimalist Signature Personal Brand Logo edit.png

Create your own Forever Memory Bank
Join our community of awesome content creators
right here on HIVE


𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments