Most Favorite Foods of All Time: Sushi

Auguste Escoffier can be quoted as saying:

Good food is the foundation of genuine happiness.


Happy Sushi Party design created in Canva

I tend to very eagerly agree. Nothing makes me happier than food or travel, and food is the one thing where I can consistently expect to experience the sublime.

My name is Kim and I am new to Hive. Of all the various communities here, I knew for a fact that I would want to join one that’s all about food. It is my passion and true joy. Food makes me feel better when I am sad and is what I crave when I wish to celebrate.

For my first post on this community, I of course want to write about my most favorite food of all time. Number one on that list is Sushi. This is the one dish that I can eat for every meal all day everyday and never get tired of it. Sushi is my happy place. It cheers me up and it is the one thing I want for any celebration, be it my birthday, our anniversary, and every single other event in between. I guess that makes me an emotional eater but I’ll save that for another community. Thankfully, I live in Hawaii where we have an abundance of the most exquisite high-quality sushi anywhere. And I am not exaggerating.


Sushi Sho, Waikiki

I’ve always referred to this place as my Disneyland, my happiest place on earth. They are the priciest but it is one of those things where you just have to experience it at least once in your life. Being that it is a fine dining restaurant, I don’t take pictures of the food at the table. Not that they forbid it, but I choose to always just be present and savor every moment of the experience. They also have the most insane collection of sake and I learned a lot doing their pairings. My favorite word at this place? Zen-bu. After the omakase, the chef presents a series of optional add-ons that may include special cuts of fish or special preparations of other ingredients in season. My all time favorite would be the seasonal uni (sea urchin) from the Fukuoka Prefecture. It is so sweet and packed with so much flavor, words cannot do it justice. But, I always choose Zen-bu—all of them!

The other spot I love and frequent would be Tanuki Sushi. I don’t have a picture of the establishment, they’re located in a little strip mall in Kaneohe, but for the quality, assortment, portions, and value, it really can’t be beat. The 2 guys who run it, Mark and Sean, are amazing and they’ve kept the quality up over the years, sometimes even outdoing themselves.

Assortment is very important to me because I am a very adventurous eater. I love trying new things and discovering new and wonderful flavors. Above is a picture of an appetizer made of Shiroko (catfish eggs) and Ankimo (monkfish liver). They’re truly very delicious but I understand they’re an acquired taste and texture. I always ask for them as an add-on whenever available.

This is a plate of Kuromitsu and O-Toro. These are my favorite types of fish in sushi because they are rich and oily, perfect for a light sear.

Finally, this is a plate of one of our all time favorite fish, Nodoguro (Rosy Sea Bass) and some Hokkaido Uni. I am very particular with my uni because I’ve had some bad ones in the past and I trust these guys every time. For all of their product, you can expect them to be consistently of the highest quality and prime preparation every single time. And even now, 5 years later, and they still manage to surprise me with a new fish I’ve never had before.

Not pictured but also a huge favorite would be the Kawahagi with liver. It’s a white fish that when eaten with a bit of Telga liver on top, just takes you to another world. It’s not gross at all, the liver is like butter and truly elevates the dish.

Okay, that’s it for now. Just writing this made me crave sushi so bad! Til next time. Thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now