This content got low rating by people.

CORN(MAIZE)

D5FD057D-9971-4EAD-8532-362B2150F664.jpeg

Corn, which is also known as maize is one of my favorite food to eat. It is a cereal plant of the grass family, and it is high in starch. It is edible and nutritious.
Corn comes as kernels on a cob, and are covered by husk. It can be eaten when boiled, which is what I prefer. It is quite easy to do this. Firstly, you pull the husk from the corn, and put it in a clean pot of water. Add salt for taste, and cover to boil. The corn will be ready to be served after few minutes.

Another way it can be eaten is when it is roasted. I live in Nigeria, and some people roast them by the roadside to make money.

217672C8-276A-4A08-B36A-116DAC1068D1.jpeg

It can also be used to make popcorn. The type of corn that is used for this is known as popcorn kernels. I love popcorn by the way. I always buy them when I go to cinemas. I also make them at home. The ingredients I used to prepare them at home are; popcorn kernels,salt, groundnut oil and butter. I like adding powdered milk when I’m done. The procedures I use to prepare it is as follows:

DD5D9CD2-3667-4DB8-B71C-148AEEBFD8AE.jpeg

i) I ensure I use a large heavy bottomed pan that has a lid. I pick this to ensure that the popcorn do not fall off when it pops.
ii) I pour enough groundnut oil into the pan and heat it.
iii) Once the oil is hot enough,I pour the popcorn kernels into the pan and cover it with the lid.
iv) I shake the pan continuously to prevent the kernels from burning. The kernels start to pop once it is heated.
v) I carefully remove the lid as hot steam will escape. I also drizzle melted butter to flavor.
vi) I transfer the popcorn into a bowl and I add sugar and powdered milk. I prefer it that way.

Corn can also be used to make pap, which is popularly known as ‘ogi’ in Yoruba tribe and ‘akamu’ in Igbo tribe in Nigeria. Milk and sugar can be added to to pap for taste. Pap can be taken with ‘moimoi’ which is bean pudding or bean cake popularly known as ‘akara’ which serves as a meal.
Pap can be made from corn which is usually fermented. The corn is soaked into water for at least three days. It is ground into fine paste. It is sieved to remove chaff. The filtered cereal is allowed to ferment for up to three days until it sours. A thick mixture settles at the bottom of the container which is the pap that is needed. Any quantity required is put into a bowl and mixed with little quantity of water as required. Hot water is now added to prepare the pap which is ready for consumption.

Corn can also be mixed with vegetables, like gabbage, green beans, green peas, carrots as salad. It can be eaten with Jollof rice and fried rice. It is usually sold in cans. It is commonly called sweet corn.

Corn can be used for animal feed. It is ground with soyabean, sorghum and oats.

Nutritional Benefits of Corn

55FFDB33-6A1C-4EC1-9632-8B1C577DA0DC.jpeg

There are several benefits of eating corn, which are as follows:
i) It is a good source of essential nutrients such as carbohydrates, vitamin and minerals.
ii) The fiber in corn aids in digestion. It helps to provide a healthy digestive system.
iii) The vitamins and antioxidants helps to provide a healthy skin.
iv) It contains proteins which is essential for growth, repair and development of the body.
v) It contains carotenoids like lutein which is beneficial for eye health.
vi) Corn contains soluble and insoluble fiber which helps to prevent constipation and improve overall gut health.
vii) It is also gluten free which is good for individuals that have gluten intolerance.
viii) It also helps to reduce the risk of heart disease.

I really love corn and I enjoy eating it a lot.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now