There's so Many Things to See At Charlie's Cup

charlie.png

It's been a while and I really miss posting here. I got caught up with all the things happening relating to my baby. Yesterday, we went to the Pedia, a new one because Matti's pedia is in Bohol, we have to find his pedia from Chonghua but I forgot her name so I ended up asking a friend for her son's pedia instead. All is well and he finally got his Pneumonia booster shot yesterday. I can't quite write on my laptop now because whenever my son sees me doing something, he'd pick up my hand and pull me to play with him so as much as possible, I have to write when he is sleeping but he is also a pure exclusive breastfed baby so it's quite a struggle.

Anyway, I'd like to share with you all our experience at Charlie's Cup which happened a few weeks ago. In fact, it happened at the start of the month and now it's just four days before the end of April and I haven't posted it yet. So hopefully, I can finish this one today.

DSC01475.jpg

Charlie's Cup is located at Transcentral Hi-way Sitio Inaad, Barangay, Cebu City. It is just before the Balamban sign and it takes at least an hour from our house to reach this place so when we were about to go to Oslob that week, we decided to take a different route from our usual one. This time, we took the Balamban - Toledo - Barili - Moalboal - Santander - Oslob route and this was our first stopover.

We arrived at nine-thirty, it was just right because there were only a few customers around. I checked the location right away. The entrance showed a red brick wall with the cafe's logo on it. I asked for a photo and Matti waived.

This is actually a huge area, there were many sections to explore. But first, we have to order brunch. Their counter is just right upon entry so that customers won't miss it.

A few heads were stuck at the counter ordering their meals too. I was planning on getting a bowl because we only had a light breakfast before heading here.

When it was our turn, I was surprised at the change in pricing. I forgot the last time I checked the menu online and now they had somehow increased but that's fine, we still have to order something. I opted for a Spamsilog bowl, while the husband requested for Spanish Sardines bowl.

There's also a table opposite the counter, guests can occupy that too and it gives an overlooking view of the entire cafe.

From here, we went to check their glasshouse. This pathway has some stones arranged well and is beautiful to make a nice walking experience. I had to take a photo of the husband and baby first. We have to check the glasshouse before going down else, we might forget about it later on when we get busy with the food and the view below.

I'll share with you the glasshouse later but first, check out these cute doodles:

This was the powder room area. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to check it out. I super love how they made it this quirky and kid-friendly too! Looking at the photo, how I wished I had gone inside to inspect how clean it is.

Anyway, that's perhaps a reason to go back in the future. Also, we only spent almost two hours here but there's so much more to discover so I guess the next time that we visit this place, we must be here from afternoon until evening because I learned there's a good sunset view from here.

Now let's go back to the glasshouse. This is where intimate celebrations are held according to Charlie's Cup's social media page.

This is truly a nice place to be with family perhaps or even a group of friends. Also, for a more formal setting, they got tables and chairs while for those who want to just chill out, got low tables and foams.

There's an interesting part here where there's a glass covering a certain tree bark and it's all covered with ornamental plants. I am not sure though if that's a live tree, I didn't go near it perhaps they were indeed preserving the tree. You can see that in the photos above.

From the glasshouse, we get to see the outside view through the glass. The lounges below on that viewing deck and the suspended platform just right a little above it.

The view is nice and having this area makes it ideal for those who want more privacy. By the way, slippers and shoes are advised to be left at the entrance area, so those who would come here should either be barefooted or they wear socks.

Now it's time to go down!

image.png

With slides and toys around, kids will also have a means of getting busy around here. They placed them in this dining area. It is spacious enough to allow kids to run but they'll get occupied with the slides and other activities like the toy car.

The baby had fun moving around using the car but these toys are already missing some parts like the black one has a missing door while the red one got no stirring wheel.

Still, it is better than nothing at all. There's also a playhouse at the other end which Matti enjoyed exploring after we had our brunch.

And then while Matti was playing, the buzzer alarmed as a sign that our orders were ready! I went up to the counter to pick it and here they are!

A7303999.jpg

Two slices of spam tucked under a sunny side egg with a slice of cucumber and tomato. I was a little disappointed though because this bowl costs Php 240 yet we only get two slices. Anyway, I have to get over it.

DSC01456.jpg

My husband's Spanish Sardines looked better with six slices and a scrambled egg. This was also worth Php 240. I got a strawberry lemonade too which was worth Php 150 for a small-sized cup. It seemed like their pricing is on the expensive side. I originally thought of getting a milk tea but their milk tea bar is still closed. They said it will open up at 10 but it was still closed until we went out of the cafe.

After eating, it was time to explore more of the cafe.

A7304068.jpg

There's a corner here with murals of coffee and some red bricks and plants. They placed a vintage bike here too which made it more instagrammable.

Then walking forward, there are these dog-painted steps which are definitely worth taking photos with. As you can see in the first image below, there was still repair being done at the cafe. We have to take photos of course of ourselves with the furbabies.

Now I wonder who's Charlie? For sure one of them! I must also say that the owner had made a good job of developing this area. It has trees and plants around that even at almost noontime, the heat is still bearable as there are shaded areas here and there. They got Barrisol cloth too in some sections.

Now more of nature this time. Aside from the viewing deck below the counter area, there's also another viewing deck in a form of a tree platform. I couldn've called it a treehouse but it didn't have any ceiling on it. There are only eight people allowed on the platform. There's a view of the lake in the far front and we were astounded knowing that there's a lake over there. I had to check the maps to know what the lake is.

A7304004.jpg

Checking on the map, I am not sure if this is Bensis or Malubog but it seems like the latter. Also, there's a neighboring cafe as well before Charlie's Cup and it is called Lakeview Le Jardin Botanical Garden so I believe that one has a clearer view of the said lake. I wish we had the luxury of time to also check that cafe but we needed to go get a place with a good internet connection because my husband still has work to do.

A7304034.jpg

We found the dogs at the back of this milk tea bar, they were still caged though, and tired. They were all just lying down. If my memory serves me right, there were at least five dogs. They kept barking at us when we came closer to the cage as we were about to go, I tried taking a photo but the barking was scary so I ditched the idea.

Oh, I forgot to mention that they also have a swing facing the lake and the mountains. And from the tree viewing platform, you'll get a sneak peek of the owner's little house. It was so nice because its glass so everything inside was visible. It is aesthetically done, there's a small kitchen and a living room. It's all made of wood and glass. I was in love with how it looked!

DSC01472.jpg

We have to go but I said to myself we need to come back, next time, we should be here by the afternoon instead or perhaps visit the Lakeview next to it so we can catch the sunset view, or maybe try their milk teas as well as their eggdrops and their soft ice cream this time.



jeanjean.png

J U N E B R I D E
Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art
• • •


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center