Filipino sour soup "Sinigang"

I promised to post about a recipe I normally cook for the family. And here we go. Most of the time, I am really having a hard time thinking of what meals/recipes I am going to prepare for everyday. I think this is every mum's struggle? Agree?

Yesterday I was enjoying watching Mukbang videos which is a local Mukbang vlog here in the Philippines. And that's when I saw this Mukbang vlog episode by foodiebee vlogger. Check them out on fb. The episode is all about pork ribs sinigang. It was mouth watering. A great mukbang episode.

https://www.facebook.com/TheFooodieBee

Who doesn't like sinigang?

263743135_920259308618662_5413198113422172356_n.jpg

Sinigang is a Filipino soup or stew with sour and savory taste. It's made of either pork, fish, chicken or beef, vegetables like eggplant, water spinach, radish, okra, string beans etc. To make the soup sour you may use tamarind, kamias or belimbing, kalamansi lemon juice extract, mango or just the ready sinigang mix pack or tamarind soup base mix.

This recipe is one of my favorite comfort food. It's jampacked with vegetables and normally I prefer to use pork ribs and belly because its flavorful, savory and tasty plus the collagen from pork ribs or bones. 😅

Is it already winter season where you at right now? Or is it rainy and cold most of time? Do you always have the worst hangover from too much drinking!? Do you feel sick and tired? Then you have to try this recipe. One hundred percent guaranteed fresh, tasty, nutritious and flavorful. This is a simple go to recipe you may want to add in your cookbook list.

When I was younger I thought that there's only one way of cooking sinigang. I thought wrong. When I started working and living on my own, that's when I learned so many different life hacks, recipes and things from people and experiences. And then I learned that the best way to cook this recipe is by sautéing pork with garlic, onions, ginger and tomatoes first. The traditional way of cooking this recipe is just pouring water into a cooking pot and directly boiling the meat with all the veggies and seasonings needed like salt pepper and tamarind.

This is how I cook my special sinigang recipe.

Ingredients:

1 kilo Pork ribs and pork belly
1 medium size of eggplant
5 pieces of okra
5 pieces of medium size chili
2 tablespoons cooking oil (vegetable oil)
3 cups of water
1 bundle of kangkong or water spinach
5 pieces of serrano chili (can use other type of chili)
1 medium size of radish
1 piece of onion sliced
4 cloves of garlic
1 thumb Ginger cut into strips
1 pack of sinigang mix or tamarind soup base mix
3 pieces of tomatoes
Salt or fish sauce and pepper to taste

sinigang mix.JPG

1. Wash the pork ribs and vegetables thoroughly. 
2. Heat the pot and pour in the cooking oil
3. Sauté the garlic, onion, ginger and tomatoes
4. Add the pork ribs and belly 
5. Pour in the water into the pot and bring to a boil for about 30 minutes until tender
6. Add all the seasoning like salt or fish sauce, pepper, 
7.Add  the vegetables like radish, eggplant, okra, chili. In this recipe I add sigarilyas or the winged bean
8.Put in the kangkong or water spinach and do not overcooked
9.Simmer for 5 to 10 minutes, you can adjust the time if you want your vegetables half cooked and crunchy
10.Then serve hot with hot rice and fish sauce dip with lots of chili and calamansi extract

262599230_626194308531361_2442584849156839912_n.jpg

263800380_265308435664020_8359358374762732343_n.jpg

266681854_1343592669402921_3904556567801511485_n.jpg

I hope you enjoy this blog recipe. HAPPY COOKING! HAPPY EATING EVERYONE!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center