Trying HIVE recipes: Kaiser Cakes

@stimburgarin shared a recipe for Traditional "Kaiser Cakes" yesterday, so I decided to give it a try myself and see how it turned out! I have set Stimburgarin as a beneficiary for post rewards, but you should probably check out the original post to see how it's supposed to be done and pass along a direct upvote there, too.

After looking through my measuring implements, I found a kitchen scale marked in kilograms, two different measuring cups marked in milliliters, plus my sorta-reliable digital scale for smaller quantities.

I can do this.

Dry ingredients:

300 grams white flour (I used unbleached white flour)
100 grams whole wheat flour
20 grams active dry yeast
10 grams sugar
10 grams salt

Wet ingredients:

100 ml milk (I used almond milk)
20 ml sunflower oil (I had olive oil instead)
water as needed


whole wheat flour.jpg
Whole wheat flour

yeast.jpg
Active dry yeast


My digital scale has a "tare" button to automatically deduct the weight of the container so I can just directly read the ingredient measurement. The number wanders a bit right of the decimal point, so this is not scientific precision, but it should be accurate enough for this task.


dry ingredients.jpg
Dry ingredients combined


almond milk text.jpg
The seldom-used metric side of my Pyrex measuring cup


Directions:

Mix dry ingredients and then add wet ingredients to form a dough.

I used just over 200 ml of water, and the dough was a bit stiff. I may add more milk and reduce the water if I try this again. Almond milk added a nice flavor, too, so I may substitute more for some of the water, and you may want to try it even if you aren't allergic to dairy.

Making Biscuits

I let the dough raise for one hour as instructed. Then, while the oven preheated to 355°F (180°C), I formed balls of dough and placed them in lightly greased Pyrex pie plates. I also slightly squished them flatter so they were no longer sorta-spherical.


dough balls.jpg
One pan was too snug, but two is too spread out. Oh, well.


After 15 minutes or so, the oven was preheated and I put the pans inside to bake until golden brown and done in the center. I neglected to record the time, unfortunately. However, when I pulled the pans out, the result was this:

baked rolls.jpg

Conclusion

These taste somewhere between biscuits and dinner rolls with just a hint of sweetness. Not bad! I'm not sure I'd use the term "cake," but this will definitely be part of supper tonight. I sliced and diced leftover pork as part of the supper planning process, too. It will probably be mixed into gravy and then poured over rice or noodles.

I also spent some time making dough for pizza since I was already making a mess with those ingredients. Now I have three crusts in the freezer for the next time a sudden pizza craving hits, and I can just add tomato sauce and toppings before baking. I even started some pretzel dough, and I need to stop typing this so I can finish the twisting and boiling process. I'll freeze the pretzels, too.

All told, it was a productive afternoon in the kitchen.

Have you tried any of the recipes you have read on HIVE? Share links in the comments to your favorite culinary discoveries posted by other bloggers!


PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center