Experimenting with Avocado Toast

I may be a millennial, but I'm a geriatric millennial, dagnabbit! I have never had that trendy hipster staple avocado toast before. I don't eat out often, and I don't think I've even seen it on the menu at any restaurant or coffee shop I have visited.

However, I found a leftover half of an avocado lurking in the refrigerator and threatening to go bad despite the valiant efforts of cling wrap toward keeping decay at bay. Time to experiment! After a quick check online, I decided to ignore the recipes I saw and just wing it. Easy-peasy! I doubled my ingredients, because I assume you don't have leftovers lurking in the dark.

avocado toast.jpg

  • 1 whole avocado
  • 2 Tbsp. Olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. Lemon juice
  • Black pepper to taste

Mash everything together with a fork and spread on toast. Job done. This should produce enough for 3 or 4 slices. I used the Mother Thing's home-made bread, though, so you'll have no choice but to use an inferior substitute.

I'm sure there are innumerable ways to make this better. Next time, I think I will top it with a splash of salsa. And I should try again to make a proper sourdough loaf. Have you made avocado toast before? Share your secret ingredients in a comment below!


dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now