My version of Japanese Mayo Sandwich!

Few months ago, my eldest son school was celebrating Children's Day. His class teacher asked whether any parents able to contribute some food to the children. My eldest said he wished I could do something since it would be his last year at this school. Just in a blink of an eye, he is 12 years old and going to be 13 years old, upgrading to secondary school! GOSH! Parents love to say please don't grow up so fast but for me, please grow up fast 'coz I can't wait to see the well-grown man you are going to become.

Eldest son specifically requested for Japanese egg mayonnaise sandwich which I regularly do at home on monthly basis. The rest of the family always love this and could eat a lot!

Japanese Egg Mayo Sandwich

I learned this from YouTube video yearssss ago and had since made some changes, mainly I omitted the addition of sugar.

Here are the simple steps, but mainly you can't use other mayonnaise than Japanese type.

Ingredients

The ingredients needed are nothing fancy:

  • Bread
  • eggs
  • Japanese Mayonnaise (I used Kewpie)
  • butter
  • salt

Steps!

I used 15 eggs and two loaves of bread. Boiled the eggs in a pot full of water for 15 minutes to make hard boiled egg.

Peel the eggs. I do not separate the egg yolk from the white for one simple reason — lazy. Hahaha! I did before and I found no difference with or without. See how beautiful those eggs were!

Added in butter and sugar. I added quite alot of butter because the creaminess of butter really made the sandwich tastier.

After this, added in Japanese mayonnaise.

Then, used all your patience and hand power to mash them while also mix all ingredients together. Ensure to do this when the eggs were still warm out of the pot, if cool already then more difficult to dissolve the salt. I omitted pepper because I was not sure which children did not like pepper.

Here, how it looked like!

Patiently deskin the bread. And nope, I don't take away the skin when prepared this for home but I figured it looked nicer if we prepared sandwiches for celebration!

Spread the egg mayonnaise of each slice of bread. Carefully stacked them!

Luckily I had two big containers for this purpose and even labelled them!

By the time I sent the sandwiches to school, the tables were already full packed with food — snacks, cupcakes, jelly, biscuits and tea drinks! Wow, they had so much fun!

My son told me his friends finished the sandwiches in no time! And actually two loaves were not enough for them all because some of them could easily gobbled in 6! They exclaimed that the sandwiches were so so so delicious! Happy me!

Photos of him and friends and teacher. The rest were still at hall for watching some performances. These few were assigned to help the teacher.

At home, our Japanese mayo sandwiches would have cheese in it. Also with toasted bread! The boys love it so much. We actually ate this for our lunch that day. Haha!

Bon Appetit!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now