Summer's Strange Kitchen - Rainbow Unicorn Poop Cookies!

Hello and happy Tuesday!

This is what happens when you allow your three year old to watch crazy YouTube videos with granny... they get all sorts of ideas for 'fun projects' for mom. I am pretty chill about these things so, of course I agreed to give it a go pretty quickly and easily. (Not knowing how much effort would be involved)

For the sake of giving credit where it is due, I am including the video that I got the recipe from. The recipe and maybe idea belongs to this lady. (fair warning...it is definitely more of a video you only watch if your child forces you to, no disrespect to her of course, but it is just not my vibe!)

This is the recipe (with slight alterations made), and my attempt at making the unicorn poo cookies for my daughter. All photos are my own.

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup Butter
  • 3 1/2 Tablespoons Cream Cheese
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Caramel Essence
  • 2 Cups Flour
  • Pink, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue and Purple Food Colouring

Method

Mix Butter and cream cheese using electric mixer
Add Sugar and Salt and beat again
Add Egg and Caramel Essence Beat again
Add flour and mix well to form very soft dough
Divide into six equal portions
Add food colouring to each and mix to colour
Wrap each dough portion in plastic and leave to set in freezer for 1 Hour
Divide each portion of dough into eight pieces, then roll into long log shapes

Lay out yellow, orange and pink log shapes next to each other.

On top of the yellow log, place green, on top of orange, place blue, on top of red place purple.

Twist ends of stacked logs in opposite directions to create coloured spiral, press gently to keep it all together.

Wrap in spiral shape, almost like you are trying to ice a cupcake or till...well...it looks a little bit like a cartoon poop shape.

Place on lined baking sheet (or in my case air fryer basket) and bake till lightly browned and set (don't bake for too long, it'll mess up the colours)

And just like that...you have made rainbow unicorn poop cookies! The horror, haha.

That's all I have time for today!

Till next time! Stay weird and creative my friends. Much love, the world definitely needs more of it.

Credit - All photos are my own
Banner created using Adobe Express

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center