Balut, Chicken Intestine & Blood Barbeque, & Takoyaki: My Guilty Pleasures!

GridArt_20231213_213708727.jpg

Balut, Chicken Intestine & Blood Barbeque, & Takoyaki: My Guilty Pleasures!

We all have our own guilty pleasures in life. Having or doing the things that is not necessary or somehow not good for us but still chooses to do because it make us happy--that is guilty pleasure for me. May it be buying luxury things, eating unhealthy/expensive foods, or traveling to beautiful places to some people. Buying things that you don't really need and very expensive but you still opted to have it since it makes you happy and at the end of the day, you feel guilty for having it---that is really a guilty pleasure.

As for me, my only guilty pleasure is in terms of food. I know food is a need of our body. It is a necessary thing that we consume everyday. But eating food that is somehow unhealthy and very expensive is I know a different case. Food that you're very aware that is not healthy and not matches your budget as well but still opted to have since it's delicious and it makes you happy is one hell of a guilty pleasure for me.

The first one on the menu that always makes me happy eventhough its unhealthy is Balut. Balut is one of the delicacies and street foods in my country. It is an incubated or ferfilized duck eggs, boiled and then served warm. It has high cholesterol level that's why heart disease risk can be increased. And as a result of high cholesterol content, Balut eggs should be consumed in moderation. But as for me, I usually consumed may be 3-4 in just one eating that's why I considered it as one of my guilty pleasures. Since Balut is very tasty and delicious and it makes me happy, I couldn't get enough of it that I tend to eat a lot eventhough I am very aware that it is unhealthy.

GridArt_20231213_213732340.jpg

The second food on the menu of my guilty pleasure is Chicken Intestine & Blood Barbeque. These kinds of barbeque are one of the famous street foods in my country. It is famous to the point that you can see a lot of it in almost every corner of the street in the Philippines. I remember vividly that during my childhood up until my teenager life it is my go-to snack. I would beg and ask money for my mother just to have those barbeque on the street. With smoky flavor and how delicious those barbeque were marinated plus the sweet and spicy vinegar sauce, there is no doubt that everyone love those kind of barbeque on the street. But even how delicious these barbeque are, there are still health concerns associated with it. Eating these kinds of food especially without moderation has higher cancer risk. Beause upon researching I found out that when eating grilled food, we are exposed to two main carcinogens which are the herocyclic aromatic amines (HCAs) and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs). It was revealed that HCAs and PAHs cause changes in DNA that may increase the risk of cancer. That is the reason why I consider this food as one of my guilty pleasures. Yes, it is delicious and I am happy when I am eating it, yet I feel guilty for I know that those are very unhealthy.

GridArt_20231213_213802088.jpg

The last food on the list of my guilty pleasure is Takoyaki. Unlike the other two that I have mentioned above, I know this one is not that unhealthy at all. But since it is somehow expensive in my country, I only have the chance to have it when I have an extra money or when the budget is not too tight. That's why I also considered this food as one of my guilty pleasure. Besides, who could've resist Takoyaki? It is indeed a delicious snack that melts in your mouth.

GridArt_20231213_213829637.jpg

That'a all for today loves! See you again on my next food adventure! Gracias!
-chica valiente

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now