Taste Test: Unusual But Not Bad

IMG_20220128_180927~2.jpg

Happy Friday, bee friends!

How's your day going? I went to work late today because of the heavy rain. And while waiting for the rain to stop, I thought about writing an article about the dishes that I have not eaten for so long.

So here's the outcome!

There are a few unusual dishes that I used to eat back when I was in Mindanao that I haven't ever eaten since the time that I left. They tasted good back then but I don't know if I would feel the same If I ate them now.

WhatsApp-Image-2020-11-16-at-21.20.11 (1).jpeg

Source:https://www.beckandbulow.com/wild-boar-recipes/

WILD BOAR MEAT. Our home in Mindanao was actually surrounded by rice fields, but my grandparents live in the forests. My grandpa would go for a hunt with my uncles once a week, and they would go home with a good catch, a wild boar.

A wild boar's meat is hard to chew like a rubber. But when It comes to the taste, it was actually not bad. I would rate my grandma's cooking as 7/10. Sometimes she would do humba, and sometimes tinunuan which is my favorite.

close-up-slice-snake-meat-dish-indochinese-rat-snake-prepared-cooking-slice-snake-meat-dish-indochinese-rat-snake-134268218.jpg

Source:https://www.dreamstime.com/close-up-slice-snake-meat-dish-indochinese-rat-snake-prepared-cooking-slice-snake-meat-dish-indochinese-rat-snake-image134268218

SNAKE MEAT. I still remember one time when my grandpa came home from a hunt, pulling a 3-meter-long python the size of my legs right now. It was just scary, but I just had to eat my grandma's cooking or I would get quite a spanking.

Grandma made a tinunuan out of the snake meat. The taste wasn't really that awful, but I vomited thinking about the kind of meat that I had to eat that day.

Frog-Legs-Recipe-8-scaled.jpg

Source: https://foreignfork.com/frog-legs-recipe/

FROG MEAT.
I would say that this is my most favorite on the list. During rainy days, frogs would party in the ricefields, especially at night. Father would go out at dawn and catch some for breakfast.

Mother would then clean the frogs and fry them afterward. The outcome is just delicious. The meat is more tender than that of a chicken. I would say that fried frog is an 8/10 dish.

carp-restaurant.jpg

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.com/LocationPhotoDirectLink-g294136-d1130948-i87858920-Carp_Restaurant-Koror_Koror_Island.html

BAT MEAT.
If you ever lived in Mindanao like me, your jaw would drop because of the thousands of bats flying from one direction to another at around 5 in the afternoon, almost covering the entire sky from the naked eye.
The native people would fly big kites and tie hooks on the nylons to catch the bats. Some people would sell their catch at the market, and some would bring theirs home for their own consumption.

One time, my father brought some bat meat home for our dinner. My mother made adobo out of it. The meat was a little bit hard to chew, but it was actually delicious. I would give it a 7/10.

I only stayed in Mindanao as a high schooler for 4 years, but I had lots of memories that are really amazing. I hope I get to visit my grandparents there again soon.

I guess that would be all for today. I am so glad that I found this amazing community #FoodiesBeeHive where I can freely talk about foods that I tasted so far. Also, I'll be sharing the other things probably on my upcoming articles. I hope you take the time to read them too!

See you in my next blog, foodie buddy bees! I have to go to work later so I'm going to take a quick nap now. Wish me a sound napping!

Love you! ❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center