Pancit Canton-Low budget recipe for our dinner

Since we are always on a tight budget we wanted to find ways to save as much as we can. So yesterday I was the one who buy food for our dinner and for our breakfast.

Every day is really a struggle for me to think about what to prepare for dinner and breakfast.
Pancit Canton is one of our favorite noodles out of all the other kinds of noodles. Though it's a bit more pricey than the other kind of noodles but for me when it comes to food I will not be that thrifty. I wanted to eat a delicious one and of course, the one that everybody at home loves to eat.

Here are the ingredients for the Pancit Canton recipe

1 pack pancit canton(smallest pack) 150grams
a small cut of pork meat
a small cut of cabbage
2 pieces of bell pepper
1 onion
1 garlic
1/2 Knorr pork cubes

Anyways hubby wants me to be the one to cook pancit because he said it tastes better than his cooking. Well, we both know how to cook but we have different ways to cook meals.
This is my way of cooking pancit.
First I prepare all the ingredients by cutting the pork meat, bell pepper, and cabbage into thin strips. I also cut the onion and garlic into small cubes.

Then I heat the oil in the pan. I cook the pork meat first then I added the onion and garlic. Then I added water, pork cubes, salt, pepper, and the pork cubes. I also added a little bit of oyster sauce to add some taste to it. I honestly don't measure the water I just estimated how much water I need to cook the pancit(noodles). I cover the pan and waited for the water to boil and add the noodles. I simmer it for a bit just enough to let the noodles almost cook and I added the cabbage and bell pepper. I mix it gradually to cook the noodles evenly then it's ready to serve.


I sprinkled some cut spring onion and a little bit of pepper powder

We are only four members in the family we parent, one teenager(daughter) and one toddler. It is perfect enough for the four of us. I only spend around 100 pesos ($2) in my simple recipe.
How about you guys? What kind of noodles do you like?


Edited using Canva
Photos used in this article are all owned by yours truly unless it is stated

Published: 6/23/2023 2:27 pm (GMT)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now