Crazy Dish from My Cooking Laboratory

A new restaurant opened a couple of months ago in the vicinity of our home, in fact in the continuation of our street. There was a lot of fanfare surrounding its opening, and with crazy prices, unusual dishes, and some other things, it became a fancy place to dine, everyone wanted to visit. The first couple of weeks, we saw people standing in front of the restaurant for an hour or so, waiting for a free table.

Knowing one of the waiters there, we've been told that some people arrived, especially those self-proclaimed or maybe true (Facebook, Instagram, or similar) influencers, just to be able to post some selfies about visiting the place. ๐Ÿ˜„

To me, the most interesting part of the restaurant was the glass-enclosed kitchen, first and foremost, because they don't call it a kitchen. It's a cooking laboratory!
Holly cow!?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

I told my husband, I have to see that FS (read it as "fancy" ๐Ÿ’ฉ)!
So, one evening while walking our dog, I took a peek from the outside. It looked to me like almost every other restaurant's kitchen, except being almost completely glass-enclosed, so any time, from the inside and outside, one may see what the chefs are doing while preparing the meals.
But, as I said, it's "not" a restaurant's kitchen, it's a cooking laboratory. ๐Ÿ˜œ
OK, so be it! - Never mind!

Salad


Sometime later, when our youngest son arrived from Spain to visit us, out of curiosity, we went there to try some dishes. But, it turned out to be an unsuccessful attempt.

The thing is that they have different types of menus for different times of the day, and we arrived at some "fancy glitch" between the two.
Something like the morning meals has been sold out, while the afternoon ones the chefs didn't prepare yet, although (according to their timeline) they should have been available.

In short, we would have to wait for at least an hour to get served, and we were too hungry to wait for that cooking laboratory experiment. So, we went to another nearby restaurant, whose quality had been tested long ago and proven through the years.

Fruit & Vegetable Salad


However, recently, my husband and I finally ended up in that newly opened restaurant without a kitchen and with a cooking laboratory. To test the water, I ordered some fancy-named dish that turned out to be some sort of salad with a few leaves of lettuce and arugula, slices of two different types of dried salami with mozzarella cheese, and a few slices of peach.
Strange combo, but it actually tastes good.

That gave me an idea, so a couple of days later, I decided to make my own version of such salad in my own "cooking laboratory" at home. ๐Ÿ˜‰
And here it is!

Vegetable & Fruit Salad


The Recipe for my Crazy Dish from my Cooking Laboratory

  • lettuce
  • arugula
  • tomato
  • paprika
  • dried salami
  • smoked bacon
  • watermelon
  • peach
  • mozzarella cheese
  • chive
  • salt
  • pepper
  • olive oil

Try it!
It's crazy, but it's nutritive enough, and it would be a refreshing rhapsody in your mouth, especially during the hot summer months.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now