Christmas Eve meal - marinated carp from the oven

Today we celebrate Christmas Eve, we are fasting, consuming mostly plant based food and fish (I will never understand why is fish labeled as a "fasting food", since its animal, I mean there are blood and flesh and...have no idea.)

I'm not a fish lover, in fact no food that threatens to choke me during chewing.

That is why I added this lovely side dish that slightly reminds of Rösti, actually this combo my mom use to stuff bell peppers.

_dsc9584.jpg

Ingredients:

Carp chops
Few potatoes
Few carrots
Lemon juice (few drops)
Onion/Garlic/Pepper/Salt/Rosemary/Basil/Olive oil

_dsc9585.jpg

Prepare the marinade by combining all the spices in olive oil, chop the garlic and add it.
Oil the pan, sprinkle some rosemary all over it.

_dsc9589.jpg

Usually fish should stay more in marinade, but I made quickie version.
Soak the fish in it as much as you can, do not forget to add these garlic chunks.
Cover it with foil and send it to the oven (mid temperature recommended)

_dsc9607.jpg

The fish was partially cooked under foil.

_dsc9611.jpg

Now I want that crispy layer, so foil is going bye-bye and fish is going back to the oven for the final touch.

Usually I know its ready when the juices evaporate from the tin.

_dsc9593.jpg

Cut the onions for the side dish, fry it.

_dsc9598.jpg

Grate the carrots and add it.
(be careful while carrots and potatoes are "dry" while frying, you will have to add more oil)

_dsc9602.jpg

Add grated potatoes, season it and fry it for a while, place it into the pan and bake it in the oven.

_dsc9619.jpg

Soft on the inside, crunchy on the outside - this is how I would describe this dish.

_dsc9614.jpg

_dsc9622.jpg

Serve it with salad, my choice were pickled cauliflower, love it.

_dsc9625.jpg

I was convinced whole my life that I know only one person who is able to consume bread with everything, but surprise - surprise, I met another one (that is why I always have puff pastry in the freezer or this tasty baguette + bunch of instant bread recipes)

I hope you enjoyed this quick tour of preparation, take pleasure in wherever you are and whatever you celebrate today or not.

Bon appetite guys! 🍴

🎄

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center